SCIENCE

EDUCATION AND CAPACITY BUILDING

GRANTS & PRIZES

ADMINISTRATION

ASTRONOMY FOR THE PUBLIC

PRESS & MEDIA

List of Symposia selected for 2012

3 June 2011

1) Symposia to be held during the General Assembly (Beijing):

The Executive Committee and Division Presidents have exceptionally selected 8 Symposia (instead of the usual 6).

  1. IAUS 288 — Astrophysics from Antarctica
    Contact: Michael Burton, Australia
    m.burton@unsw.edu.au
  2. IAUS 289 — Advancing the physics of cosmic distances
    Contact: Richard de Grijs, China
    grijs@kiaa.pku.edu.cn
  3. IAUS 290 — Feeding compact objects: Accretion on all scales
    Contact: Zhang Chengmin, China
    zhangcm@bao.ac.cn
  4. IAUS 291 — Neutron stars and pulsars: Challenges and opportunities after 80 Years
    Contact: Richard Manchester, Australia
    dick.manchester@csiro.au
  5. IAUS 292 — Molecular Gas, Dust, and Star Formation in Galaxies
    Contact: Martin Bureau, UK
    bureau@astro.ox.ac.uk
  6. IAUS 293 — Formation, detection, and characterization of extrasolar habitable planets
    Contact: Nader Highighipour, USA
    nader@ifa.hawaii.edu
  7. IAUS 294 — Solar and astrophysical dynamos and magnetic activity
    Contact: Alexander Kosovichev, USA
    sasha@sun.stanford.edu
  8. IAUS 295 — The intriguing life of massive galaxies
    Contact: Daniel Thomas, UK
    daniel.thomas@port.ac.uk

2) Symposium to be held outside the General Assembly:

  1. IAUS 287 — Cosmic masers - from OH to Ho
    Stellenbosch, South Africa (29/1-3/2/2012)
    Contact: Roy Booth, South Africa
    rbooth@ska.ac.za

Special Sessions and Joint Discussions for the General Assembly will be announced later.

Search News



 

Office for Astronomy Development

Office for Astronomy Development


Strategic Plan

International Year of Astronomy

CAPj