SCIENCE

EDUCATION AND CAPACITY BUILDING

GRANTS & PRIZES

ADMINISTRATION

ASTRONOMY FOR THE PUBLIC

PRESS & MEDIA

List of Special Sessions and Joint Discussions selected for 2012

14 June 2011

The list is as follows:

1) Special Sessions at the General Assembly:

  1. SpS1 — Origin and complexity of massive star clusters
    Contact: Giampaolo Piotto, Italy
    giampaolo.piotto@unipd.it
  2. SpS2 — Cosmic evolution of groups and clusters of galaxies
    Contact: Jan Vrtilek, USA
    jvrtilek@cfa.harvard.edu
  3. SpS3 — Galaxy evolution through secular processes
    Contact: Ron Buta, USA
    rbuta@bama.ua.edu
  4. SpS4 — New era for studying interstellar and intergalactic magnetic fields
    Contact: Han JinLin, China
    hjl@nao.cas.cn
  5. SpS5 — The IR view of massive stars: the main sequence and beyond
    Contact: Margaret Hanson, USA
    hansonmm@ucmail.uc.edu
  6. SpS6 — Science with large solar telescopes
    Contact: Gianna Cauzzi, Italy
    gcauzzi@arcetri.astro.it
  7. SpS7 — The impact hazard: current activities and future plans
    Contact: Alan Harris, USA
    harrisaw@att.net
  8. SpS8 — Calibration of star-formation rate measurements across the electromagnetic spectrum
    Contact: Andreas Zezas, Greece
    azezas@physics.uoc.gr
  9. SpS9 — Future Large Facilities
    Contact: Roger Davies, UK
    rld@astro.ox.ac.uk
  10. SpS10 — Dynamics of the star-planet relations
    Contact: Jean-Louis Bougeret, France
    jean-louis.bougeret@obspm.fr
  11. SpS11 — IAU Strategic Plan and the Global Office of Astronomy for Development
    Contact: George Miley, Netherlands and Kevin Govender, South Africa
    miley@strw.LeidenUniv.nl and kg@astro4dev.org
  12. SpS12 — Modern views of the interstellar medium
    Contact: You-Hua Chu, USA
    yhchu@illinois.edu
  13. SpS13 — High-precision tests of stellar physics from high-precision photometry
    Contact: Dave Soderblom, USA
    drs@stsci.edu
  14. SpS14 — Communicating astronomy with the public for scientists
    Contact: Dennis Crabtree, Canada
    Dennis.Crabtree@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
  15. SpS15 — Data intensive astronomy
    Contact: Masatoshi Ohishi, Japan
    masatoshi.ohishi@nao.ac.jp
  16. SpS16 — Unexplained spectral phenomena in the interstellar medium
    Contact: Sun Kwok, China
    sunkwok@hku.hk
  17. SpS17 — Light Pollution: Protecting Astronomical Sites and Increasing Global
    Awareness through Education

    Contacts: Beatriz García, Argentina
    beatrigarciautn@gmail.com
    and
    Richard Green, USA
    rgreen@lbto.org
  18. SpS18 — "Hot Topics" for each week
    (by invitation only)
    Contact: Thierry Montmerle, France
    montmerle@iap.fr

2) Joint Discussions at the General Assembly:

  1. JD1 — The highest-energy gamma-ray universe observed with Cherenkov telescope arrays
    Contact: Diego Torres, Spain
    dtorres@ieec.uab.es
  2. JD2 —Very massive stars in the local universe
    Contact: Jorick Vink, UK
    jsv@arm.ac.uk
  3. JD3 — 3-D views of the cycling Sun in stellar context
    Contact: Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi, France
    Lidia.vanDriel@obspm.fr
  4. JD4 — Ultraviolet emission in early-type galaxies
    Contact: Sugata Kaviraj, UK
    s.kaviraj@imperial.ac.uk
  5. JD5 — From meteors and meteorites to their parent bodies: Current status and future developments
    Contact: Junichi Watanabe, Japan
    jun.watanabe@nao.ac.jp
  6. JD6 — The connection between radio properties and high-energy emission in AGNs
    Contact: Gabriele Giovannini, Italy
    ggiovann@ira.inaf.it
  7. JD7 — Space-time reference systems for future research
    Contact: Dennis McCarthy, USA
    dennis.mccarthy@usno.navy.mil

Search News



 

IAU General Assembly 2015
IAU General Assembly
Honolulu, 3-14 August 2015

Latest Information Bulletin
Information Bulletin n° 111

Latest e-Newsletter
IAU e-Newsletter - Volume 2013 n° 4

Office for Astronomy Development
IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Outreach
IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Astro EDU
Peer-reviewed Astronomy Education Activities


Strategic Plan
Astronomy for Development
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

CAPj
Communicating Astronomy with the Public Journal