Working Groups

Working Groups are established by the Executive Committee, by Divisions, or by Commissions, to undertake certain well-defined tasks for limited time periods. Working Groups of the Executive Committee undertake essential functions on behalf of the IAU as a whole.

The assignment of the Working Groups to the new Divisions and Commissions is under discussion and will be listed progressively.

For reference all past Commissions Working groups are listed at the end.

Commission Working Group Chair Under
Astronomical Heritage in Danger Alejandro Martín López
Commission C4
Astronomy for Equity and Inclusion Amelia Ortiz Gil
Commission C1
CAP Conferences Commission C2
CAP Journal Commission C2
Classical Observatories from the Renaissance to the 20th Century Gudrun B. E. Wolfschmidt
Commission C4
Heritage of Space Exploration Mikhail Ya Marov
Commission C4
High-Accuracy Stellar Spectroscopy Paul S. Barklem
Commission B5
Historic Radio Astronomy Richard Wielebinski
Commission B4
Meteor Shower Nomenclature (MSN-WG) Diego Janches
Commission F1
Network for Astronomy School Education (NASE) Rosa M. Ros
Commission C1
Outreach Professionalization & Accreditation Richard Tresch Fienberg
Commission C2
Public Outreach Information Management Lars Lindberg Christensen
Commission C2
Science Communication Research in Astronomy Pedro Russo
Commission C2
Solar Irradiance Commission E1
Theory and Methods in Astronomy Education Paulo Sergio Bretones
Commission C1
Theory of Earth Rotation and Validation (IAU / IAG Joint WG) Jose Manuel Ferrándiz
Commission A2

Division Working Group


Abundances in Red Giants Jacco Th. van Loon
Division G
Active B Stars Carol Evelyn Jones
Division G
Ap & Related Stars Gautier Mathys
Division G
Astrometry by Small Ground-Based Telescopes Division A
Exoplanets for the Public Alain Lecavelier des Etangs
Division F
Impact of Magnetic Activity on Solar and Stellar Environments Dibyendu Nandi
Division E
Massive Stars Division G
Multi-waveband Realisations of International Celestial Reference System François Mignard
Division A
Near Earth Objects Alan William Harris
Division F
Numerical Standards in Fundamental Astronomy (NSFA) Brian Luzum
Division A
Planetary System Nomenclature (WGPSN) Rita M. Schulz
Division F
Small Bodies Nomenclature (SBN) Jana Tichá
Division F
Standards of Fundamental Astronomy (SOFA) Catherine Y. Hohenkerk
Division A
Star Names Eric E. Mamajek
Division C
Supernovae Avishay Gal-Yam
Division D
Third Realisation of International Celestial Reference Frame Patrick Charlot
Division A
Time Domain Astronomy Rob Seaman
Division B
UV Astronomy Ana I. Gómez de Castro
Division B

Executive Committee Working Group


Global Coordination of Ground and Space Astrophysics Executive Committee
International Year of Light: Cosmic Light Richard F. Green
Executive Committee
Public Naming of Planets and Planetary Satellites Thierry Montmerle
Executive Committee
Women in Astronomy Francesca Primas
Executive Committee

Inter-Commission Working Group


Achieving Sustainable Development within a Quality Lighting Framework Commission B7, Commission C1
Education and Training in Astrobiology Muriel Gargaud
Commission C1, Commission F2, Commission F3, Commission H2
Intangible Astronomical Heritage Duane W. Hamacher
Commission C1, Commission C4
Windows to the Universe: High-Mountain Observatories, and Other Astronomical Sites of the Late 20th and Early 21st Centuries Robert Christopher Smith
Commission B7, Commission C4

Inter-Division Working Group


Cartographic Coordinates & Rotational Elements Brent A. Archinal
Division A, Division F
Coordination of Synoptic Observations of the Sun Division B, Division E
Solar Eclipses Jay M. Pasachoff
Division C, Division E

Past Commission Working Group Under
- TG On Asteroid Magnitudes C 15
- TG On Asteroid Polarimetric Albedo Calibration C 15
- TG on Preservation & Digitization of Photographic Plates C 5
Archaeoastronomy and Astronomy in Culture C 41
Archives C 41
Asteroid Families C 15
Astrochemistry C 34
Astronomy and World Heritage C 41
Astrophysically Important Spectral Lines C 40
Astrostatistics and Astroinformatics C 5
Atomic Data C 14
CAP Conferences C 55
CAP Journal C 55
Catolog of Orbital Elements of Spectroscopic Binary Systems C 26
Communicating Heliophysics C 55
Coordination of Synoptic Observations of the Sun C 12
Data Bases for Comet Spectroscopy C 15
Designations C 5
Historic Radio Astronomy C 40
Historical Instruments C 41
Infrared Astronomy C 25
Johannes Kepler C 41
Libraries C 5
Maintenance of the Visual Double Star Database C 26
Meteor Shower Nomenclature C 22
Molecular Data C 14
New Media C 55
New Ways of CAP C 55
Outreach Professionalization & Accreditation C 55
Physical Studies of Asteroids C 15
Physical Studies of Comets C 15
Planetary Nebulae C 34
Public Outreach Information Management C 55
Radial-Velocity Standard Stars C 30
Solids & Their Surfaces C 14
Standardizing Access to Ephemerides C 4
Stellar Radial Velocity Bibliography C 30
The IAU Dictionary of Astronomical Concepts C 46
The Radio Astronomy Definition of Continuum Flux Density in Broad-Band SED Observations C 40
Theory of Earth Rotation C 19
Time Domain Astronomy C 5
Transits of Venus C 41
Virtual Observatories, Data Centers & Networks C 5
Washington Charter For CAP C 55

Natural Planetary Satellites C 4, C 7, C 8, C 16, C 20

Search Scientific Bodies

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2016 n° 2

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy


CAPjournal issue 19 now available

CAPjournal issue 19

IAU General Assembly 2018


IAU Directory for World Astronomy


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

Peer-reviewed Astronomy Education Activities

Astro EDU

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Portal to the Universe

Portal to the Universe