John H. Seiradakis




John Seiradakis was born in Chania, Crete. He obtained his degree in Physics
(1971) from the University of Athens and his M.Sc. (1973) and Ph.D. (1975) from the
Victoria University of Manchester.

From 1975 to 1985 he worked as a Post Doc researcher at the Max-Planck-
Institute for Radio Astronomy, Bonn, at the University of Hamburg and at the
University of California, San Diego. In 1985 he was appointed Associate Professor at
the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and in 1996 full Professor. In 2011 he was
elected Director of the Laboratory of Astronomy of the Aristotle University, a
position that he held until his retirement in August 2015. In December 2015, he was
appointed Professor Emeritus.

His major scientific interests in Astronomy, focus on neutron stars, neutral
hydrogen in nearby galaxies, the galactic centre, flare stars, the Sun, the Moon and
Archaeoastronomy. He has written 3 course books and has published more than 100
articles in refereed (mainly) and other scientific journals, volumes or conference
proceedings. He has also written popular astronomy books and published several tens
of articles in newspapers or popular magazines.
He has represented Greece in large European networks (OPTICON, ILIAS,
CRAF, etc) and in international resolutions.

In December 2005, the highest EU prize “Descartes” was awarded to the
neutron stars research network, PULSE, in which he is a founding member.
He is a member of the Antikythera Mechanism Research Group. Since 2007,
he has given more than 200 lectures, public or scientific, in Greece and around the
world for the Antikythera Mechanism.

Finally, he has served as Member, Chairman or Director in several national or
international scientific Committees or Organizations, including the Greek National
Committee for Astronomy and the Hellenic Astronomical Society.

Second Obituary:

Past affiliation(s) within the IAU

  • Past Member of Division B Facilities, Technologies and Data Science (until 2020)
  • Past Member of Division C Education, Outreach and Heritage (until 2020)
  • Past Member of Division E Sun and Heliosphere (until 2020)
  • Past Member of Division F Planetary Systems and Astrobiology (until 2020)
  • Past Member of Commission C1 Astronomy Education and Development (2018-2020)
  • Past Member of Commission C3 History of Astronomy (2018-2020)
  • Past Member of Commission C1 WG Astronomy Competitions for Secondary School Students (2019-2020)
  • Past Member of Commission 53 Extrasolar Planets (WGESP) (until 2015)

Areas of interest

1 - General: 1.3 - History and philosophy of astronomy, 1.6 - Astronomy Education, 1.8 - Communicating Astronomy with the Public
6 - The Sun: 6.3 - Sun: atmosphere, 6.4 - Sun: chromosphere
8 - Stars: 8.32 - Stars: pulsars

Search individual members


IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings


IAU General Assembly 2022



How to Become a Member

Centre for the Protection of the Dark and Quiet Sky from Satellite Constellation Interference


IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2022 n° 9

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

IAU WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters and Ensemble Magazine

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters