ann10026 — Announcement

Kavli Prize Ceremony held on 7 September 2010

11 August 2010

Updated on 17 September 2010

His Majesty King Harald of Norway presented the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience to the eight laureates from US, Germany and UK at a gala performance in Oslo Concert Hall on the 7 September 2010. Artist and former Minister of Culture Åse Kleveland, and the American actor, director and writer Alan Alda hosted the ceremony. The prize winners received a gold medal, a scroll and a share of the one million US dollars awarded in each of the scientific fields.

The 2010 Kavli Prize laureates have made discoveries that have dramatically expanded human understanding in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics was presented to Jerry Nelson, Ray Wilson and Roger Angel for their contributions to the development of giant telescopes that have allowed us glimpses of ever more distant and ancient objects and events in the remote corners of the Universe.

More information on:

About the Announcement