ann14009 — Announcement

The Kavli Prize
22 May 2014
Live Webcast of the 2014 Kavli Prize Laureates Announcements

On 29 May 2014, from 14:30 to 16:00 CEST, a live webcast will take place as the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announces the 2014 Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience. The webcast will be live from Oslo, Norway and the World Science Festival in New York City.

The program includes:

  • Announcement of the 2014 Kavli Prize Laureates by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, hosted by scientist and science writer Adam Rutherford.

  • Panel discussion about the Prizes led by ABC news journalist Richard Besser with: Astrophysics - Lord Martin Rees (Fellow of Trinity College,  Emeritus Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics at the University of Cambridge); Paul Weiss (Fred Kavli Chair in Nanosystems Sciences, University of California, Los Angeles); and Ann Graybiel (2012 Kavli Prize Laureate in Neuroscience and investigator at the McGovern Institute for Brain Research at MIT).

  • Opening tribute to Fred Kavli, with Alan Alda (actor, writer, director and visiting professor, Stony Brook University); Brian Greene (professor of physics and mathematics, Columbia University) and Eric Kandel (Nobel Laureate, Kavli Professor and Director of the Kavli Institute for Brain Science at Columbia University)



Raquel Yumi Shida
IAU Press Officer Deputy
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 3200 6177

About the Announcement



The Kavli Prize