ann16044 — Announcement

IAU logo
14 October 2016
IAU PhD Prize to Recognise Excellence in Astrophysics

The IAU is pleased to announce a new prize, called the IAU PhD Prize, to recognise outstanding scientific achievement in astrophysics around the world. Each IAU Division will, once a year, have the opportunity to award its own prize to the candidate it feels has carried out the most remarkable work in the previous year.

The recipient of each award will receive a range of prizes, tailored by each Division at their own discretion. A standard prize will include airfare and accommodation to attend the next IAU General Assembly (2016 and 2017 winners will attend the 2018 General Assembly, and the 2021 General Assembly will host winners from 2018-2020) where certificates will be awarded. Other prizes might include the opportunity to present the thesis work at Division Days as well as other opportunities of interaction with the Executive Committee and the Division President of the IAU.

Candidates will be required to submit, among other items, an abstract of their thesis that is suitable for public consumption, a 1500-word thesis summary, three letters of recommendation (including one from the PhD advisor) and a CV. The winner of each Division will be decided by the Division’s own standards and methods — guided by the Division Steering Committee — and possibly with corroborating external consultation or additional letters of recommendation.

The IAU PhD Prize is open to candidates from any country, regardless of whether the country has an IAU National Membership. On top of this, a separate prize is available to be awarded to applicants from developing countries (defined as those not in the OECD). The deadline for all applications will be 15 December every year, to include all applications since the previous year’s deadline.

More information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together more than 10 000 professional astronomers from almost 100 countries. Its mission is to promote and safeguard the science of astronomy in all its aspects through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.



Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



IAU logo