ann18021 — Announcement

Recipients of the IAU PhD Prize for 2017
7 May 2018
IAU PhD Prize winners 2017 announced

The IAU PhD Prize recognises the outstanding scientific achievement in astronomy by PhD students around the world. There are a series of awards, one for each of the IAU’s nine Divisions, with each division selecting a winner in its own field of astronomy.

The IAU Executive Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the IAU PhD Prize for 2017 which are as follows:

84 candidates submitted their PhD theses by the 15 December deadline and most of them were judged excellent by the evaluation panel of the relevant Division, making the selection particularly hard.

Each recipient receives airfare, registration fee and accommodation to attend the next IAU General Assembly, to be held between 20 and 31 August 2018 in Vienna, Austria, where the Prize Certificates will be awarded. The winners will also have the opportunity to present their research work in one of the sessions of the General Assembly.

The IAU congratulates all these winners, wishes them every success in their future careers, and looks forward to another set of high-quality applications for next year’s award. The 2018 round is open for submissions until 15 December 2018; the next set of winners will be announced in spring 2019 and they will have the opportunity to attend the XXXIth General Assembly in Busan in 2021.

More Information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together more than 10 000 professional astronomers from almost 100 countries. Its mission is to promote and safeguard the science of astronomy in all its aspects through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.



Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



Recipients of the IAU PhD Prize for 2017