ann19024 — Announcement

Yunnan National Observatories, the venue of ISYA 2019
22 April 2019
International School of Young Astronomers 2019 applications open

The 42nd International School for Young Astronomers, ISYA 2019, will take place in Kunming, China, from 14 October to 3 November 2019, at the Yunnan National Observatories. The International School for Young Astronomers (ISYA) is a long-standing project of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), and is now co-sponsored by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (NASL) through the Office for Young Astronomers (OYA). The 42nd school will be jointly organised by the OYA and the Yunnan Observatories (YNOs) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

The ISYAs are three-week-long international postgraduate schools held in regions where students have fewer opportunities to be directly exposed to the full extent of up-to-date astrophysics. The aim of the schools is to broaden the horizons of young students through interactions with experts from around the world, who will give lectures on current topics in astrophysics, both theoretical and observational.

ISYA2019 will accept 40 students with full support from the ISYA program and the YNOs. Applications are open online until 15 June 2019.

Scientific Programme:

  • Interstellar Medium and Star Formation. Ewine van Dishoeck (Univ. Leiden, The Netherlands)
  • Solar System and Exoplanets. David Jewitt (UCLA, USA)
  • Stellar Evolution and Structure. Yoshida Naoki (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Eclipsing Binaries. Liying Zhu (YNOs, China/Nanjing)
  • Pulsating Stars. David Mkrtichian (NARIT, Thailand)
  • Cataclysmic Variables. Shengbang Qian (YNOs, China)
  • Stellar Clusters. Wen-Ping Chen (National Central University, China/Taipei)
  • Galaxies. Itziar Aretxaga (INAOE, Mexico)
  • Active Galatic Nuclei. Xiaohui Fan (U. Arizona, USA)
  • Cosmology. David Mota (U. Oslo, Norway)
  • Observational Astronomy and Data Processing Lab. Liying Zhu, Liang Liu and Jia Zhang (YNOs, China/Nanjing)
  • Photometry and Spectroscopy Lab. Shengbang Qian (YNOs, China/Nanjing) and David Mkrtichian (NARIT, Thailand)
  • X-ray Astronomy Lab. Li Ji (Purple Mountain Obs, China/Nanjing)
  • Radioastronomy Lab. Aeree Chung (Yonsei Univ., South Korea)
  • Virtual observatory Lab. Yogesh Wadadekar (Tata Inst., India)

More Information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together more than 13 500 professional astronomers from more than 100 countries worldwide. Its mission is to promote and safeguard astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development, through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.



Itziar Aretxaga

Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



Yunnan National Observatories, the venue of ISYA 2019