ann19058 — Announcement

Shaw Prize Award Ceremony in Hong Kong 2019
27 September 2019
Shaw Prize Award Ceremony Takes Place in Hong Kong
Three researchers, including astronomer Edward C. Stone, are honoured for breakthroughs in their fields

On 25 September 2019 the three recipients of this year’s Shaw Prize were presented with their awards at a ceremony in Hong Kong, with astronomer Edward C. Stone among them. International Astronomical Union  General Secretary Teresa Lago was also in attendance at the ceremony, representing a new partnership between the Shaw Prize and the IAU.

Established in 2002, the Shaw Prize recognises and rewards active scientific researchers who have made significant breakthroughs that have positively impacted humanity. In May this year, it was announced in a press conference that the 2019 winners of the prize, which is awarded annually in three categories, are: Edward C. Stone in astronomy, Maria Jasin in life science and medicine, and Michel Talagrand in mathematical sciences.

The 2019 Shaw Laureates officially received their awards at a ceremony on Wednesday 25 September 2019 at the Grand Hall Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. The ceremony was attended by Carrie Lam, Hong Kong Chief Executive, and a large audience of scientists and business representatives. 

The IAU congratulates all three recipients on this well-deserved honour. IAU General Secretary Teresa Lago, who attended the ceremony, said “this public celebration of the achievements of these scientists was both very moving and inspiring. The Shaw Prize is certainly one of the most selective and relevant science prizes in the world and I am proud of the recent partnership established between the IAU and the Shaw Prize Foundation associated with the new IAU Office of Astronomy for Education.”

The IAU has echoed the decision of the Shaw Prize to honour the considerable contributions to astronomy made by Edward C. Stone, particularly through his leadership in the Voyager Project. As a Shaw Laureate in astronomy, he is invited to give the plenary Shaw Prize Foundation lecture at the IAU General Assembly in Busan in 2021

The promotion of scientific excellence is a goal that the Shaw Prize shares with the IAU, leading to the collaboration between the two organisations announced earlier this year. This partnership, which took effect with the announcement of the 2019 Shaw Laureates, will see the organisations work together towards improving astronomy education and recognising excellence in professional astronomy.

The next result of this collaboration will be the 1st Shaw-IAU Workshop on Astronomy for Education, to be held from 17 to 19 December 2019 at the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris near the IAU Headquarters in Paris.

More Information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together more than 13 500 professional astronomers from more than 100 countries worldwide. Its mission is to promote and safeguard astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development, through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.


Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



Shaw Prize Award Ceremony in Hong Kong 2019
Shaw Prize Award Ceremony in Hong Kong 2019