Date sent: 25 October 2018, 17:30

From: Denis Burgarella (denis.burgarella@lam.fr)

Subject: Div. J Newsletter #2

Dear members of IAU Division J Galaxies & Cosmology,

1) Please find a correction to the previously sent list members of the Steering Committee of IAU Division J (Galaxies & Cosmology, https://www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/divisions/J/

    o President: Denis Burgarella (France, denis.burgarella@lam.fr)

    o Vice-President: Kim-Vy Tran (USA, Australia, kimvy.tran@gmail.com)

    o Advisor: Claus Leitherer (USA, leitherer@stsci.edu)

    o Valentina D'Odorico (Commission J2 President, Italy, valentina.dodorico@inaf.it
    o Thaisa Storchi-Bergmann (Commission X1 President, Brazil, thaisa@ufrgs.br
    o Cristina Carmen Popescu (UK, Commission J1 President, cpopescu@uclan.ac.uk

    o Gustavo R. Bruzual (Mexico, g.bruzual@irya.unam.mx)
    o Elisabete da Cunha (Portugal, elisabete.dacunha@anu.edu.au)
    o Leslie Hunt (Italy, hunt@arcetri.astro.it)
    o Johan Knapen (Spain, johan.knapen@iac.es)
    o Jeremy R. Mould (Australia, jmould@swin.edu.au)
    o Aida Wofford (Mexico, awofford@astro.unam.mx)

2) IAU will award in 2018 a PhD Prize (i.e. a PhD Thesis which has been defended between the 16 December 2017, and 15 December 2018). This IAU PhD Prize is open to candidates from any country, regardless of whether the country has an IAU National Membership. The objective is to recognise outstanding scientific achievement in astrophysics around the world even at that early stage in the career.

All IAU members can inform potential candidates, in their country or institution, for this opportunity since the deadline for applications for the 2018 IAU PhD Prize will be 15th December.

The application form is available here: https://www.iau.org/submissions/phd-prize/ 

The conditions and details for the application are available in the IAU webpage https://www.iau.org/science/grants_prizes/phd_prize/ . 

Best regards,
Denis Burgarella
Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Marseille, France
President IAU Division J 

 

IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

IAU Code of Conduct (PDF)

Code of Conduct

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

Membership

How to Become a Member

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2019 n° 9

Latest e-Newsletter

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy

CAPj

International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter