Letters of Intent received in 2016

GA Symposia

Non-GA Symposia

LoI 2018-1953

Title Magnetic Activity, Planetary Climates and Habitability
Location Greenbelt, MD
Country United States
Dates 10 September 2018 to 14 September 2018
Contact Vladimir Airapetian (vladimir.airapetian@nasa.gov)

LoI 2018-1925

Title From dense cores to galaxies: star formation in the Local Universe
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Joao Alves (joao.alves@univie.ac.at)

LoI 2018-1894

Title Star Clusters: from the Milky Way to the Early Universe
Location Vienna (at the XXX GA)
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Bragaglia Angela (angela.bragaglia@oabo.inaf.it)

LoI 2018-1949

Title Dark Massive: Luminous and Dark Matter in Massive Galaxies
Location Vien
Country Australia
Dates 20 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Magda Arnaboldi (marnabol@eso.org)

LoI 2018-1948

Title Long term study of the Sun and space climate
Location Jaipur, http://birlaauditoriumjaipur.com
Country India
Dates 19 February 2018 to 23 February 2018
Contact Dipankar Banerjee (dipu@iiap.res.in)

LoI 2018-1886

Title White Dwarfs: probes of exo-planets, stellar and galactic evolution and cosmology
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Martin Barstow (mab@le.ac.uk)

LoI 2018-1928

Title The European ELT - Project status & plans for early science
Location Wien
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Giuseppe Bono (bono@roma2.infn.it)

LoI 2018-1896

Title GA or Non-GA Symposium: Challenges in Panchromatic Modelling with Next Generation Facilities
Location To be determined
Country AA-Country unknown
Dates 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2018
Contact Médéric Boquien (mederic.boquien@uantof.cl)

LoI 2018-1899

Title GA Symposium: The link between dense gas and star formation
Location Vienna (GA)
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Jonathan Braine (jonathan.braine@u-bordeaux.fr)

LoI 2018-1951

Title Science with the SKA Precursors and Prospects for the SKA
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 23 August 2018
Contact Robert Braun (r.braun@skatelescope.org)

LoI 2018-1966

Title Galactic Rings
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Ronald Buta (rbuta@ua.edu)

LoI 2018-1924

Title Complex Organic Molecules (COMs) in the Universe: Current Understanding and Prospectives
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 23 August 2018
Contact Paola Caselli (caselli@mpe.mpg.de)

LoI 2018-1945

Title Stellar Pulsation and Evolution Challenges: Synergies between Observation and Theory
Location Nice
Country France
Dates 10 December 2018 to 14 December 2018
Contact Merieme Chadid (chadid@unice.fr)

LoI 2018-1929

Title Small stellar systems: probes of galaxy evolution and the location of star formation
Location Rio Grande do Sul
Country Brazil
Dates 5 February 2018 to 9 February 2018
Contact Ana Chies Santos (ana.chies@ufrgs.br)

LoI 2018-1895

Title GA Symposium: Structure, kinematics and stellar populations of the Magellanic system
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 30 August 2018
Contact Maria-Rosa Cioni (mcioni@aip.de)

LoI 2018-1926

Title Build-up of Galaxy Clusters Over Cosmic Time
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 21 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Helmut Dannerbauer (helmut@iac.es)

LoI 2018-1893

Title Dwarf Galaxies: From the Deep Universe to the Present
Location IAU GA 2018
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Romeel Dave (romeeld@gmail.com)

LoI 2018-1898

Title GA Symposium: Origins: From the Protosun to the First Steps of Life
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Bruce Elmegreen (bge@us.ibm.com)

LoI 2018-1923

Title GA Symposium: Transients across and beyond the electromagnetic spectrum
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 24 August 2018 to 26 August 2018
Contact Avishay Gal-Yam (avishay.gal-yam@weizmann.ac.il)

LoI 2018-1939

Title Constraining galaxy formation and evolution using massive star clusters
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Mark Gieles (m.gieles@surrey.ac.uk)

LoI 2018-1914

Title NON-GA SYMPOSIUM - Perseus in Sicily: from black hole to cluster outskirts
Location Noto
Country Italy
Dates 14 May 2018 to 18 May 2018
Contact Marcello Giroletti (giroletti@ira.inaf.it)

LoI 2018-1916

Title GA Symposium: Linking the fundamental scales of Star Formation
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Dimitrios Gouliermis (dgoulier@mpia.de)

LoI 2018-1937

Title Binary stars through the Universe
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Zhanwen Han (zhanwenhan@ynao.ac.cn)

LoI 2018-305

Title Under one Sky: the IAU Centenary Symposium
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 23 August 2018
Contact John Hearnshaw (john.hearnshaw@canterbury.ac.nz)

LoI 2018-304

Title The Victor Hess Legacy: Particle Acceleration in Cosmic Plasmas
Location Vienna General Assembly
Country Austria
Dates 18 August 2018 to 20 August 2018
Contact Hyesung Kang (hskang@pusan.ac.kr)

LoI 2018-1930

Title GA Symposium --- The Interstellar Star Formation Cycle: Clouds, Stars, and Feedback
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Jens Kauffmann (jens.kauffmann@gmail.com)

LoI 2018-1950

Title Why Galaxies Care About AGB Stars: A Continuing Challenge through Cosmic Time
Location Vienna, GA30 Venue
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Franz Kerschbaum (franz.kerschbaum@univie.ac.at)

LoI 2018-1917

Title Star-Planet Interaction: Observations and Modeling
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 30 August 2018
Contact Irina Kitiashvili (irina.n.kitiashvili@nasa.gov)

LoI 2018-1906

Title GA Symposium: Seismology of the Sun and Sun-like Stars from the Interior to the Corona
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Alexander Kosovichev (alexander.g.kosovichev@njit.edu)

LoI 2018-1911

Title High resolution and high precision astronomy
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Yuri Kovalev (yykovalev@gmail.com)

LoI 2018-1922

Title GA Symposium: 21st Century Astrometry: crossing the Dark and Habitable frontiers
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 30 August 2018
Contact Alberto Krone-Martins (algol@sim.ul.pt)

LoI 2018-1885

Title The Intergalactic Medium: Outside-In and Inside-Out
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Avery Meiksin (meiksin@staffmail.ed.ac.uk)

LoI 2018-1940

Title New challenges in our Solar System ephemerides
Location Wien
Country Austria
Dates 1 August 2018 to 1 August 2018
Contact Andrea Milani Comparetti (milani@dm.unipi.it)

LoI 2018-1934

Title Red giant stars as Galactic probes
Location Saint-Malo
Country France
Dates 22 October 2018 to 26 October 2018
Contact Benoit Mosser (benoit.mosser@obspm.fr)

LoI 2018-1969

Title High-mass X-ray binaries at the cross-roads of astrophysics
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Lidia Oskinova (lida@astro.physik.uni-potsdam.de)

LoI 2018-1976

Title A post Dawn Look at the Pristine Solar System
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 21 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Ernesto Palomba (ernesto.palomba@iaps.inaf.it)

LoI 2018-1910

Title Computational Discovery in Astrophysics (GA or Non-GA Symposium)
Location Vienna Switserland or Paralia Katerini, Mt. Olympus, Greece
Country Greece
Dates 20 August 2018 to 27 August 2018
Contact Simon Portegies Zwart (spz@strw.leidenuniv.nl)

LoI 2018-1935

Title Binaries, Multis and Astrostatistics at the Crossroads
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Andrej Prsa (aprsa@villanova.edu)

LoI 2018-1900

Title GA Symposium: Reference Frames
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 27 August 2018 to 30 August 2018
Contact Gross Richard (Richard.Gross@jpl.nasa.gov)

LoI 2018-1905

Title Non-GA Symposium: Laboratory Astrophysics: from Observations to Interpretation
Location Cambridge
Country United Kingdom
Dates 2 April 2018 to 6 April 2018
Contact Farid Salama (farid.salama@nasa.gov)

LoI 2018-1947

Title Asteroseismology and Galactic Archaeology in the era of large surveys
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Victor Silva Aguirre (victor@phys.au.dk)

LoI 2018-1915

Title Galaxy Evolution and Feedback Across Cosmic Time
Location Bento Goncalves, near Porto Alegre
Country Brazil
Dates 5 March 2018 to 9 March 2018
Contact Thaisa Storchi Bergmann (thaisa@ufrgs.br)

LoI 2018-1927

Title The Realm of the Low Surface Brightness Universe
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 23 August 2018
Contact David Valls-Gabaud (david.valls-gabaud@obspm.fr)

LoI 2018-1912

Title GA Symposium: "Cosmic dust: origin, applications and implications"
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Darach Watson (darach@dark-cosmology.dk)

LoI 2018-1964

Title The Astrophyiscs of Extreme Transients
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 24 August 2018
Contact Ralph Wijers (Ralph.Wijers@uva.nl)

LoI 2018-1919

Title GA Symposium: Two decades of accreting millisecond pulsars
Location Vienna
Country Austria
Dates 20 August 2018 to 31 August 2018
Contact Rudy Wijnands (r.a.d.wijnands@uva.nl)

GA Focus Meetings

LoI 2018-1943

LoI 2018-1938

LoI 2018-1963

LoI 2018-1907

LoI 2018-1921

LoI 2018-1952

LoI 2018-1975

LoI 2018-1913

LoI 2018-1884

LoI 2018-1908

LoI 2018-1970

Title Messaging to ET
Contact Alan Penny (alan.penny@st-andrews.ac.uk)

LoI 2018-1889

LoI 2018-1942

LoI 2018-1946

LoI 2018-1959

LoI 2018-1974

 

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

IAU General Assembly 2022

Meetings

Membership

How to Become a Member

Centre for the Protection of the Dark and Quiet Sky from Satellite Constellation Interference

CPS

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2022 n° 10

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

IAU WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters and Ensemble Magazine

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters