Division B Facilities, Technologies and Data Science

Hosted Commissions

The effort towards the scientific goals of Division B is supported by an organisational structure that currently contains 7 Commissions and 2 Working Groups.  The Commissions are as follows:


No. Commission IAU Page Commission Page Objectives
5 Documentation and Astronomical Data IAU web page External web page Objectives
6 Astronomical Telegrams IAU web page External web page Objectives
14 Atomic & Molecular Data IAU web page External web page Objectives
25 Astronomical Photometry and Polarimetry IAU web page External web page Objectives
40 Radio Astronomy IAU web page External web page Objectives
50 Protection of Existing & Potential Observatory Sites IAU web page External web page Objectives
54 Optical & Infrared Interferometry IAU web page External web page Objectives


The IAU web pages of each Commission contain information on the current officers and the number of members, with a link to the full list of members.  In addition there is information on the Working Groups hosted by each Commission. The external web pages (if present) give detailed information on the work of the Commissions. A separate link is given (when available) to the the terms of reference or scientific objectives of each Commission.

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2016 n° 1

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy


CAPjournal issue 19 now available

CAPjournal issue 19

IAU General Assembly 2018


IAU Directory for World Astronomy


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

Peer-reviewed Astronomy Education Activities

Astro EDU

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Portal to the Universe

Portal to the Universe