Division Presidents and Vice-Presidents (2012-2015)

Following the adoption of Resolution B4 presented by the Executive Committee, a new list of Divisions is being put into place. Their current names, and the names of their Presidents and Vice-Presidents, are given below.

Division A: Space and Time Reference Systems

President: Sergei  Klioner (Germany)
Vice-president: Jacques Laskar (France)

Division B: Facilities, Technologies and Data Science

President: David Silva (USA)
Vice-president: Pietro Ubertini (Italy)

Division C: Education, Outreach and Heritage

President: Mary Kay Hemenway (USA)
Vice-president: Hakim Malasan (Indonesia)

Division D: High Energies and Fundamental Physics

President: Diana Worrall (UK)
Vice-president: Felix Aharonian (Ireland/Germany)

Division E: Sun and Heliosphere

President: Lidia van Driel (UK)
Vice-president: Yihua Yan (China)

Division F: Planetary Systems and Bioastronomy

President: Giovanni Valsecchi (Italy)
Vice-president: Nader Haghighipour (USA)

Division G: Stars and Stellar Physics

President: Ignasi Ribas (Spain)
Vice-president: Corinne Charbonnel (France)

Division H: Interstellar Matter and Local Universe

President: Ewine van Dishoeck (Netherlands)
Vice-president: Jonathan Bland-Hawthorn (Australia)

Division J: Galaxies and Cosmology

President: Françoise Combes (France)
Vice-president: Thanu Padmanabhan (India)


IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings



How to Become a Member

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2020 n° 7

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers