IAU EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 106 MINUTES

Friday, Aug. 27th, 3pm-7 pm CEST (9am-1pm EDT), virtual

Participants

Executive Committee Members:

- Debra Elmegreen (President; USA)
- Jose Miguel Rodriguez Espinosa (General Secretary; Spain)
- Willy Benz (President-elect; Switzerland)
- Diana Worrall (Assistant General Secretary; UK)
- Daniela Lazzaro (Vice-President, 2nd term; Brazil)
- Laura Ferrarese (Vice-President, 2nd term; Canada)
- Junichi Watanabe (Vice-President, 2nd term Japan)
- Hyesung Kang (Vice-President, incoming, South Korea)
- Solomon Tessema (Vice-President, incoming, Ethiopia)
- Ilya Usoskin (Vice-President, incoming, Finland)
- Ewine van Dishoeck (Past President, Advisor; Netherlands)
- Teresa Lago (Past General Secretary, Advisor; Portugal)

Secretariat:

- Head of Administration: Maria Rosaria D'Antonio
- Database Manager and Assistant: Madeleine Smith-Spanier

Division Presidents: (up to coffee break)

-	Daniel Hestroffer (France)	-Div. A (continuing)
-	Gabriele Giovannini (Italy)	-Div. B
-	Richard de Grijs (Australia)	- Div. C
-	Isabelle Grenier (France)	- Div. D
-	Cristina Mandrini (Argentina)	-Div. E
-	Maria Barucci (France)	- Div. F
-	Andrej Prsa (USA)	- Div. G
-	Monica Rubio (Chile)	- Div. H
-	Kim-Vy Tran (Australia)	- Div. J

Outgoing EC: (up to coffee break)

- John Hearnshaw (Vice-President, "2nd-term"; New Zealand)
- Ajit Kembhavi (Vice-President, 2nd-term; India)
- Boris Shustov (Vice-President, 2nd-term; Russia)
- Silvia Torres-Peimbert (Past President, Advisor; Mexico)
- Piero Benvenuti (Past General Secretary, Advisor; Italy)

Outgoing Division Presidents: (up to coffee break)

-	Daniel Hestroffer (France)	- Div. A
-	Michael Burton (UK)	- Div. B
-	Susana Deustua (USA)	- Div. C
-	Elena Pian (Italy)	- Div.D
-	Sarah Gibson (USA)	-Div.E
-	Gonzalo Tancredi (Uruguay)	-Div.F
-	David Soderblom (USA)	- Div. G
-	Leonardo Testi (Germany)	- Div. H
-	Denis Burgarella (France)	- Div. J

ECWG JM Chairs: (outgoing up to coffee break, plus incoming chairs)

- Outgoing Fatoumata Kebe, Maria Drozdovskaya
- Incoming Hannah Stacey, Camilo Delgado-Correal

The President welcomed the participants, and the Agenda was approved.

The President introduced the new members and invited reflections from the outgoing members.

EC-related DP duties were discussed.

With just the new EC, discussions were held with the leaders of the IAU Offices and then with EC WG Chairs to hear about purposes and projects.

Concerning D&QS, applications to host the Coordination Centre are due Sept. 10 to the GS, who confirmed that the 2nd Workshop will take place in La Palma in the first week of October.

The President suggested specific tasks ("portfolio assignments") for the VPs, primarily related to liaisons and committee membership for various Offices and WGs; the assignments are posted in file-share.

The OM2022 will take place in Paris on Feb. 7-9, 2022.

The decision on EC107 (April/May 2022) is postponed so that covid restrictions can be assessed closer to the date.

IAU EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 106a MINUTES

Thursday, September 23th, 3 pm CEST (9 am-EDT), virtual

Participants

Executive Committee Members:

- Debra Elmegreen (President; USA)
- Jose Miguel Rodriguez Espinosa (General Secretary; Spain)
- Willy Benz (President-elect; Switzerland)
- Diana Worrall (Assistant General Secretary; UK)
- Daniela Lazzaro (Vice-President, 2nd term; Brazil)
- Laura Ferrarese (Vice-President, 2nd term; Canada)
- Junichi Watanabe (Vice-President, 2nd term Japan)
- Hyesung Kang (Vice-President, 1st term, South Korea)
- Solomon Tessema (Vice-President, 1st term, Ethiopia)
- Ilya Usoskin (Vice-President, 1st term, Finland)
- Ewine van Dishoeck (Past President, Advisor; Netherlands)
- Teresa Lago (Past General Secretary, Advisor; Portugal)

Secretariat:

- Head of Administration: Maria Rosaria D'Antonio
- Database Manager and Assistant: Madeleine Smith-Spanier

Division Presidents:

-	Daniel Hestroffer (France)	-Div. A
-	Gabriele Giovannini (Italy)	-Div. B
-	Richard de Grijs (Australia)	- Div. C

-	Isabelle Grenier (France)	- Div. D
-	Cristina Mandrini (Argentina)	-Div. E
-	Maria Barucci (France)	-Div. F
-	Andrej Prsa (USA)	- Div. G
-	Monica Rubio (Chile)	- Div. H
-	Kim-Vy Tran (USA)	- Div. J

Welcome by the President and approval of the Agenda

Update on preparation for XXXI GA - Busan

HK: Presentation on GA2022 status (see slides in file-share), discussing hybrid format options.

Having recordered talks would allow all astronomers to participate, including those who live in different time zones.

DECISION: agree with Hyesung 's option proposed for the talks

ACTION: MSS will send the DPs a reminder on what is covered for the PhD Prize recipients.

DECISION: March 31 deadline for the Division Days programs; HK will post a link to DD websites or a pdf file of the DD programs.

GA 2027 details: bidding procedure, hybrid, cost caps, etc.

Future GAs should consider organizing for 4+4 days, as in Busan. Reducing the number of days makes it easier to maintain cheaper costs for the registrations and the rent of the location.

It is important to offer a hybrid option for future GAs. In-person meetings are very important, especially for early career astronomers, to establish new contacts and to interact. However, for astronomers who cannot participate in person for different reasons or can take part for only one week in person, a hybrid option would allow virtual participation in the entire GA.

Symposia 2023

The discussion proposed by DW (see file-share report) concerning new rules for the next hybrid Symposia will continue among the Officers.

AOB

DECISION: All in favour of rejecting the proposition by the WHO on naming new COVID strains after stars and constellations, and preparing a letter (with a solution) to WHO and possibly an announcement distancing the IAU and starrelated naming for diseases.