IAU Commission A2 Rotation of the Earth Annual report for 2021

Organizing Committee:

Zinovy M. Malkin (President)
Alberto Escapa (Vice-President)
Laura I. Fernandez (Secretary)
Florian Seitz (Advisor – Past President)
Shuanggen Jin
Jolanta Nastula
David A. Salstein
Hadia Hassan Selim
Jean Souchay
Robert Heinkelmann (IAG Representative)
Daniela Thaller (IERS Representative)
Oleg A. Titov (IVS Representative)

Organization

IAU Commission 19 began its history with the birth of the IAU at the Brussels Conference in 1919, where Standing Committee 19 on Latitude Variations was established. At the first IAU General Assembly in 1922, Standing Committee 19 became Commission 19 "Variation of Latitude". Later, as the topic of the Commission was expanded to include observations and the theory of Earth rotation and interconnection between Earth rotation and geophysical phenomena, in 1964 it was renamed Commission 19 "Rotation of the Earth". In 2015, Commission 19 was renewed as Commission A2 "Rotation of the Earth" (CA2) with the same functions. In 2021, CA2 was renewed for the next 6-year term. Among its scientific rationale, CA2 helps linking the astronomical community to other scientific organizations such as the International Association of Geodesy (IAG), International Earth Rotation and Reference Systems Service (IERS), and space geodesy technique services largely contributed to the monitoring and investigation of the Earth's rotation, such as International VLBI Service for Geodesy and Astrometry (IVS), International GNSS Service (IGS), International Laser Ranging Service ILRS), and International DORIS Service (ILRS).

Election of CA2 officers for the term 2021–2024 took place in April 2021. Alberto Escapa was elected as the new CA2 Vice-President. Three new CA2 OC members were elected: Laura Fernandez, David Salstein, and Jean Souchay. Second term CA2 OC members are Hadia Hassan Selim, Shuanggen Jin, and Jolanta Nastula.

Three non-voting Representatives to CA2 OC from other organizations were appointed by the new CA2 OC and confirmed by corresponding organizations: Robert Heinkelmann (IAG Representative), Daniela Thaller (IERS Representative), and Oleg Titov (IVS Representative).

Laura I. Fernandez was appointed by the CA2 OC as the new Commission Secretary.

The Commission currently joints 111 members.

The CA2 webpage is https://www.iau.org/science/scientific bodies/commissions/A2/info/.

General activity

CA2 proposed an IAU Resolution on Improvement of the Earth's Rotation Theories and Models, which was approved by the IAU GA 2021 as IAU Resolution B2 http://www.iau.org/static/archives/announcements/pdf/ann21040b.pdf.

CA2 together with CA1 proposed an IAU Resolution in support of the protection of geodetic radio astronomy against radio frequency interference, which was approved by the IAU GA 2021 as IAU Resolution B1

http://www.iau.org/static/archives/announcements/pdf/ann21040a.pdf.

A. Escapa, R. Heinkelmann, J. M. Ferrandiz, F. Seitz, and R. Gross prepared an article for IAU Catalyst on these two IAU Resolutions including their detailed description and explanation.

Scientific meetings

A proposal for IAU GA 2021 Symposium "Reference systems and their ties with the rotation of the Earth and other Solar System bodies" jointly prepared by IAU Commissions A1, A2 (lead), and Inter-Division A/F WG on Cartographic Coordinates and Rotational Elements (WGCCRE) https://www.iau.org/static/science/scientific_bodies/commissions/a1/info/meetings/a1-symposium-proposal.pdf was submitted, but was not approved by the IAU EC. The CA2 OC decided to work on a new IAU Symposia proposal, together with other IAU Commissions having interest in the CA2 topics.

Because of COVID-19 pandemic, there were no scientific meetings co-organized by IAU CA2 in 2021. Meanwhile, during 2021, CA2 members actively participated in organization of many scientific meetings of CA2 interest, such as 25th Working Meeting of the European VLBI Group for Geodesy and Astrometry (virtual, 15–18 March 2021), European Geoscience Union General Assembly (virtual, 19-30 April 2021), IAG Scientific Assembly (Beijing, China, 28 June – 5 July 2021, Beijing, China), AGU Fall meeting (New Orleans, LA, USA, 13–17 December 2021.

Working Groups under IAU Commission A2

Joint IAU-IAG-IERS WG Consistent Realization of TRF, CRF and EOP (JWG CRTCE) Chair: Robert Heinkelmann, Co-Chair: Manuela Seitz The main objectives of this WG are:

- to compute multi-technique CRF-TRF solutions together with EOP in one step,
- to quantify the consistency of the current conventional reference frames and EOP.
- to quantity the consistency of the current conventional revenue in

– assess the consistency of reprocessed and predicted EOP.

Joint IAU-IAG WG Improving Theories and Models of the Earth's Rotation (JWG ITMER) Chair: Jose Ferrándiz, Co-Chair: Richard Gross

The main purpose of this WG is to propose consistent updates of the Earth rotation theories and models, and their validation. The associated tasks will thus contribute to the implementation of the 2018 IAU Resolution B1 on Geocentric and International Terrestrial Reference Systems and Frames, and the 2019 IAG Resolution 5 on Improvement of the Earth's Rotation Theories and Models.

The Working Groups publish their reports at https://www.iau.org/publications/iau/wg_reports/