Commission F3 Annual Report for its Activity in 2019

The IAU Commission F3 (Astrobiology) was established in August 2015 as the result of the IAU Commission reform. The subject of astrobiology is an interdisciplinary subject and our members come from diverse backgrounds, ranging from astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, geology, and planetary science. The Commission currently has 198 members and one associate, as of April 13, 2020. Members of its Organizing Committee are:

Masatoshi Ohishi, Japan (President), Joseph A. Nuth, U.S.A. (Vice President), Sun Kwok, China-Nanjing (Advisor as the immediate Past President), Hervé Cottin, France, Muriel Gargaud, France, Jesus Martinez-Frias, Spain, Sergio Pilling, Brazil, and Patricio Rojo, Chile.

As one of major scientific activities of the Commission, preparation towards the conference, Astrobiology 2020, is going on, which will be held between November 9 and 13, 2020 in Vredefort Dome – a World Heritage Site - located ~120 km southwest of Johannesburg, South Africa. Joe Nuth is the chair of the SOC and Axel Hoffman (South Africa) is the Chair of the LOC. The conference will include many exciting topics related to Astrobiology, and pre-, mid-, and post-conference field trips are also planned. The conference details can be found at its website, <u>https://astrobiology.uj.ac.za</u>. It is noted that a two-day astrobiology training school will also be held immediate before the Conference.

The Commission is keen about education and outreach, and runs a working group "Education and Training in Astrobiology" with Muriel Gargaud as the chair. Its activity report will be published separately.