Dear IAU Division E colleagues,

I hope you are all doing well. After the Executive Committee (EC) Meeting 109 in Washington DC at the end of April, there are several good news that I would like to share with all of you.

1) The symposia and focus meetings that are coordinated by our Division for 2024, both to be held during the General Assembly (GA) in South Africa and out of the GA, are approved.

Therefore, we will have several exciting events taking place during the GA added to our Division Days. These events are:

IAUS 390 "A Multi-Point view of the Sun: Advances in Solar Observations and in Space Weather Understanding"

Marco Romoli

FM 8 "Advances and Challenges in Understanding the Solar and Stellar Dynamos"

Alexander Kosovichev

Another approved FM sponsored by our Division is:

FM 7 "New Horizons at the interface between Computational Astrophysics and Big Data"

The approved non-GA Symposium is:

IAUS 388 "Solar and Stellar Coronal Mass Ejections"

Natchimuthuk Gopalswamy

Location: Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland

Dates: May 5-10, 2024

Information can be found at:

https://www.iau.org/science/meetings/future/

Registration and abstract submission for GA 29024 will commence in September 2023. See: https://astronomy2024.org/

2) 2022 PhD Prize winners were presented by all Divisions during the EC meeting.

Our winner is:

Yajie Chen - Thesis "Forward Modeling of Solar Coronal Magnetic Field and Plasma Diagnostics"

Two other young solar physicists will receive honorable mentions:

Prabir Kumar Mitra - Thesis: "Investigations of Initiation and Evolution of Transient Phenomena in Solar Atmosphere"

Yuto Bekki - Thesis "Theory of solar oscillations in the inertial frequency range

Our congratulations to all of them!!

Information can be found at:

https://www.iau.org/news/announcements/detail/ann23019/

Passings of colleagues

The following Division E members have passed away after our latest newsletter:

(see

https://www.iau.org/science/scientific_bodies/divisions/E/DeceasedDivisionE/):

Prof. Dr. Boris V. Somov (7 January 1945 - 2 December 2022)

Dr. Stephen W. Kahler (28 July 1939 – 5 February 2023)

Dr. Uri Feldman (17 April 1935 - 26 February 26 2023)

Dr. Serge Koutchmy (26 June 1940 – 27 May 2023)

All will be missed.

Do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or comments on Division E activities.

Cristina H. Mandrini