## This report contains the activities of Division E (Sun and Heliosphere) from after the General Assembly XXXI Business Meetings in August 2021 to 28 February 2022

Division E (Sun and Heliosphere) encompasses the study of the Sun, its structure, variability, activity and dynamics, as well as its impact on the Earth and other bodies located within the heliosphere.

- President: Cristina H. Mandrini (Argentina)
- Vice President: Toshifumi Shimizu (Japan)
- Secretary: Mingde Ding (China)
- Advisor: Sarah Gibson (United States)

• Steering Committee: Tim Bastian (United States), Robertus Erdelyi (United Kingdom), Ilaria Ermolli (Italy), Claire Fullon (United Kingdom), Manolis Georgoulis (Greece), Irina Kitiashvili (United States), Heidi Korhonen (Denmark), Alexander Nindos (Greece), Durgesh Tripathi (India).

• Commission E1 (Solar Radiation and Structure):

President: Ilaria Ermolli (Italy), Vice President: Alfio Maurizio Bonanno (Italy), Advisor: Alexander Kosovichev (United States)

• Commission E2 (Solar Activity): President: Manolis Georgoulis (Greece), Vice President: R.T. James McAteer (United States), Advisor: Paul Cally (Australia)

• Commission E3 (Solar Impact Throughout the Heliosphere): President: Claire Foullon (United Kingdom), Vice President: Masumi Shimojo (Japan), Advisor: Nicole Vilmer (France)

• Inter-Division E-F-G Commission (Impact of Magnetic Activity on Solar and Stellar Environments). President: Heidi Korhonen (Denmark), Vice President: Dibyendu Nandi (India).

• Inter-Division Working Group B-E (Coordination of Synoptic Observations of the Sun): Co-chairs: Frederic Clette (Belgium) and Alexei Pevtsov (United States)

• Inter-Division Working Group C-E (Solar Eclipses): Chair: Jay Pasachoff (United States)

The Division E Steering Committee participated in a kickoff teleconference in September, 2021 in which plans for future Committee activities were discussed in detail and a rough schedule laid out. Thereafter, the Steering Committee communicated via email and shared documents on line.

A Division Secretary (Mingde Ding) was appointed, who then oversaw the development and ongoing contributions to the Division web pages, including two newsletters that were sent to the Division membership on October 2021 and February 2022.

The Division Vice President (Toshifumi Shimizu) became the point of contact for the Office of Astronomy for Development with the task of disseminating information from that Office to the Division at large.

The Steering Committee worked within their local communities to advertise opportunities for Individual and Junior membership, as well as the Division IAU PhD prize 2021. Though our Division received no symposium proposals as coordinating or supporting division for 2023, the Steering Committee reviewed and provided a report on those proposals including topics of our interest.

A more demanding task of the Steering Committee in this six-month period was to organize the Division Days meeting for the General Assembly that will take place from 2 to 11 August 2022 in Busan, Republic of Korea.

Finally, the Steering Committee is presently reviewing applications for our Division IAU 2021 Ph.D. prize.