IAU Division A Working Group on Time Metrology Standards Annual Report 2021-2022

MEMBERS

Brent Archinal Felicitas Arias (chair) Alecsander Brzeziński Nicole Capitaine Wolfgang Dick **Bess Fang-Sortais** Catherine Hohenkerk Mizuhiko Hosokawa Yasuhiro Koyama Brian Luzum Zinovy Malkin **Richard Manchester Demetrios Matsakis** Yolanta Nastula Masatoshi Ohishi Gérard Petit Philip Tuckey Shougang Zhang

ASSOCIATES Paul Koppang

Report

Administration

The WG TMS has 18 members and one associate. No changes in the membership occurred in the period. Communication between the members has been by e-mail only.

The future of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

Resolution 655 of the World Radiocommunication Conference 2015 (WRC-15) invited the relevant international organizations and scientific associations to cooperate submitting results of studies on the possible implementation of a continuous time scale. Work progressed at the Working Party 7A of the International Telecommunication Union – Radiocommunication Sector (ITU-R) on the establishment of a report on the "Content and structure of time signals to be disseminated by radiocommunication systems and various aspects of current and potential future reference time scales, including their impacts and applications in radiocommunication". The outcome of this document, will be included in a report of the Radiocommunication Bureau at the Word Radiocommunication Conference 2023.

The Working Group worked on the preparation of the texts concerning the use of UTC in astronomy, its relation to UT1 and the impact of a possible change in the definition that would make UTC continuous, at least for a long period of time. This contribution has been included in the version of the report to be discussed the meeting of the ITU-R WP7A in May 2022.