## **2022** Annual Report of the Working Group for Planetary System Nomenclature (WGPSN)

CHAIR Rita Schulz MEMBERS Kaare Aksnes

George A. Burba Guy Consolmagno Rosaly Lopes Philippe Masson James A. Skinner, Jr. Gareth V. Williams Charles Wood Ruth Ziethe

## Report for the period 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022

Working Group member William Sheehan resigned on 2 June 2022.

New members: Ruth Ziethe (Switzerland) joined on 18 July 2022 and James A. Skinner, Jr. (U.S.A.) on 17 October 2022.

From 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022, 83 new names have been assigned for planetary surface features (Mercury: 19, Moon: 3, Mars: 36, Europa: 7, Titan: 11, Pluto: 7).

During this same time period the following additional actions have been taken:

- Arrokoth:
  - Names for the two lobes of Arrokoth were approved: Weeyo (smaller lobe) and Wenu (larger lobe), and the descriptor term "lobus" was approved for these features.
- Saturn:
  - o 13 names were approved for moons of Saturn:
    - Gridr (Saturn LIV)
    - Angrboda (Saturn LV)
    - Skrymir (Saturn LVI)
    - Gerd (Saturn LVII)
    - Eggther (Saturn LIX)
    - Beli (Saturn LXI)
    - Gunnlod (Saturn LXII)
    - Thiazzi (Saturn LXIII)
    - Alvaldi (Saturn LXV)
    - Geirrod (Saturn LXVI)

Rita Schulz Working Group Chair