Comment sont nommées les exoplanètes?

L’UAI encourage vivement la participation du grand public, directe ou au travers d’un vote indépendant, pour nommer les objets astronomiques, les satellites planétaires, les exoplanètes récemment découvertes ou leurs étoiles hôtes. Ce processus suit une tradition bien établie concernant les noms donnés aux objets du système solaire (page en anglais)

L’UAI ne s’accorde pas le monopole du choix des noms des objets célestes. Quiconque peut, en théorie, les appeler comme il le souhaite. Cependant, étant donné la publicité et l’investissement émotionnel associés à ces découvertes, il est important que les noms choisis puissent bénéficier d'une reconnaissance mondiale. L’UAI offre son expérience unique pour assurer le succès des processus publics visant à trouver des noms aux objets (qui doivent rester différents, comme par le passé, des considérations pour attribuer des dénominations scientifiques).

 

Nomenclature scientifique des exoplanètes

La nomenclature scientifique utilisée pour désigner des exoplanètes est habituellement constituée de deux éléments : 1) un nom propre ou une abréviation, parfois associés à des nombres ; 2) suivis par une lettre minuscule.

Le premier élément trouve son origine dans des sources variées. Le plus couramment utilisé est le nom de l’étoile hôte de l’exoplanète, que ce soit un nom commun ou un nom issu d'un catalogue. Il arrive que le nom utilisé soit celui de l’instrument scientifique ou du projet qui a conduit à la découverte de l'exoplanète.

Intéressons-nous maintenant à quelques exemples des premiers noms donnés aux exoplanètes.

Par exemple, 51 Pegasi b est une exoplanète orbitant autour de l’étoile 51 Pegasi dans la constellation de Pégase. L’étoile s’est vu attribuer ce nom de catalogue par l’astronome anglais John Flamsteed dans son atlas d’étoiles de 1712. Il existe un autre catalogue d’étoiles courant utilisé pour les noms d’exoplanètes: il s’agit de GJ, un catalogue obtenu en 1970 par extension de l’index de 1957 de l’astronome allemand Wilhelm Gliese (par ailleurs, il existe une poignée d’exoplanètes nommées en référence à Gliese). Un exemple d'exoplanète ayant reçu ce type de nom est GJ 1214 b. Cette dénomination signifie que l'étoile hôte  est la 1214ème entrée du catalogue d’étoiles GJ. On retrouve d’autres exemples tels que les exoplanètes HD et HIP. Un exemple d’exoplanète nommée en utilisant le nom commun de son étoile est Fomalhaut b, Formalhaut étant le nom de l'étoile hôte dérivé d’un nom arabe utilisé il y a au moins 2000 ans.

Parmi les exoplanètes qui sont nommées en utilisant le nom de l'instrument qui a servi à les découvrir, on retrouve les planètes de Kepler, dont le nom est issu du télescope spatial Kepler de la Nasa. Un autre exemple est donné par les planètes CoRoT, dont le nom fait référence à la mission spatiale de l'agence spatiale française (CNES) et de l'agence spatiale européenne (ESA) COnvection ROtation and planetary Transits. Ce mode de désignation a été utilisé pour les exoplanètes Kepler-186 f et CoRoT-7b.

Sur la liste des exoplanètes qui sont nommées d'après des projets astronomiques ou de recherche de planètes, on retrouve les planètes HAT, dont le nom est issu du réseau automatique de télescopes hongrois (HATNet, Hungarian Automated Telescope Network) ainsi que les planètes WASP, relatives au projet SuperWASP. Ces deux projets utilisent des télescopes au sol. Il y a une multitude d’autres exemples. Le Qatar a financé un projet de recherche d'exoplanètes, ce qui a donné le nom Qatar-1b. Les exoplanètes MOA et OGLE furent découvertes grâce à la technique d'observation des micro-lentilles gravitationnelles par les projets respectifs : MOA (Microlensing Observations in Astrophysic) et OGLE (Optical Gravitational Lensing Experiment).

À présent, intéressons-nous au deuxième élément, la dernière lettre qui apparaît dans les noms scientifiques d'exoplanètes. À la différence du nom propre, la lettre utilisée s'applique universellement dans presque tous les types de nomenclatures. La lettre indique l'ordre de découverte de la planète autour de son étoile hôte. La première exoplanète découverte dans un système planétaire donné est désignée b, la seconde c, la troisième d et ainsi de suite. La lettre n'indique pas le placement orbital de la planète autour de son étoile hôte. Ainsi, Exoplanète-c peut être plus proche ou plus éloignée qu’Exoplanète-b de l'étoile autour de laquelle elle a son orbite.

L’utilisation de la lettre minuscule fait partie des règles établies par l'UAI concernant les noms donnés aux systèmes stellaires binaires et multiples. Une étoile primaire, qui est plus brillante (et typiquement plus grosse) que ses seconde et troisième étoiles compagnons, est désignée par un A majuscule. Ses compagnons portent les labels respectifs B et C et ainsi de suite.

Sirius, l'étoile la plus brillante du ciel, en est l’exemple même. En effet, il s’agit d’une étoile double ; l’étoile brillante que nous voyons dans le Grand Chien est Sirius A, alors que son faible compagnon est Sirius B. La première exoplanète que l’on a identifiée avec réserve orbite autour de la deuxième étoile la plus brillante du système triple d’étoiles Alpha Centauri est ainsi nommée Alpha Centauri Bb. Si une exoplanète orbite autour des deux étoiles d’un système binaire, son nom peut alors être, par exemple, Kepler-34(AB) b.

 

Règles de dénomination

Les noms publics proposés lors de campagnes doivent respecter les règles et restrictions de dénomination utilisées pour nommer les Objets Mineurs du Système Solaire (Minor Bodies of the Solar System) et adoptées par l’UAI et le Centre des Planètes Mineures (Minor Planet Center)  (voir https://www.iau.org/public/naming/#minorplanets, ou pour plus de détails, http://www.minorplanetcenter.net/iau/info/Astrometry.html#nametype).

 

En particulier, les noms proposés doivent être :

  • D’une longueur de 16 caractères ou moins ;
  • Composés  d’un seul mot si possible ;
  • Prononçables (dans une langue quelconque) ;
  • Ne pas être à caractère offensant ;
  • Ne pas être trop similaires au nom existant d’un objet astronomique. Les noms déjà donnés à des objets astronomiques peuvent être vérifiés via le lien http://cds.u-strasbg.fr/cgi-bin/sesame (pour les noms galactiques et extragalactiques), ainsi que la base de données du MPC http://www.minorplanetcenter.net/db_search (pour les noms d'astéroïdes et satellites).

 

En outre, il n’est pas autorisé de proposer :

  • Des noms d’animaux domestiques ;
  • Des noms de nature purement ou principalement commerciale ;
  • Des noms d’individus ou de lieux principalement connus pour des activités politiques, militaires ou religieuses ;
  • Des noms d’individus vivants ;
  • Le même nom pour une étoile hôte et la planètes

 

Le processus doit respecter la propriété intellectuelle :

  • On doit pouvoir démontrer que des noms déjà existants, quand ils sont proposés, sont libres pour un usage public (par exemple, non-sujets à des droits d’auteur tels que cela peut être le cas de noms créés dans des fictions comme des livres, des jeux, des films, etc.).

 

Il est entendu que si une désignation scientifique existe déjà pour le ou les objets, alors le nom public ne la remplacera pas. En revanche, il sera reconnu par l’UAI comme le nom d’usage public pour ces objets et il en sera fait publicité comme tel, ainsi que rendu crédit à l’organisation ou à l’individu qui l’a proposé. Ce nom public peut ensuite être utilisé à un niveau international ainsi que, ou à la place de la désignation scientifique, de façon permanente et sans restriction.

 

Articles connexes :

 


International Astronomical Union / IAU for the public / Naming of exoplanets

Cette version française a été traduite par des bénévoles du Astronomy Translation Network (Réseau de traduction en astronomie), sous la supervision du National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (Observatoire astronomique national du Japon) ainsi que du Office for Astronomy Outreach (Bureau de la vulgarisation en astronomie), une division de l’Union Astronomique Internationale.

Traduction par Jean-Dag Dahl
Révision d’épreuves par Lisa Liotta
Révision du contenu scientifique par Alain Lecavelier

En date du 08/06/2018

Ce contenu est sous licence Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)

 

IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

IAU Code of Conduct (PDF)

Code of Conduct

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

Membership

How to Become a Member

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2018 n° 11

Latest e-Newsletter

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy

CAPj

International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter

Naming of exoplanets

The IAU fully supports the involvement of the general public in the naming of astronomical objects, whether directly or through an independent organised vote, in the naming of planetary satellites, newly discovered exoplanets, and their host stars. This follows a well-established tradition for naming Solar System objects.

The IAU does not consider itself as having a monopoly on the naming of celestial objects — anyone can in theory adopt names the way they choose. However, given the publicity and emotional investment associated with these discoveries, worldwide recognition is important and the IAU offers its unique experience for the benefit of a successful public naming process (which must remain distinct, as in the past, from the scientific designation issues)

The process for naming exoplanets is organised by the IAU Executive Committee Working Group Public Naming of Planets and Planetary Satellites.

Scientific designations

The scientific nomenclature for the designations of exoplanets usually consists of two elements: 1) a proper noun or abbreviation, sometimes with associated numbers 2) followed by a lowercase letter.

The first element can derive from a number of sources. A common source is an exoplanet's host star's widely recognized, common or astronomical catalogue name. Alternatively, exoplanets are often named after the scientific instrument or project that discovered the exoplanet.

We'll look at several examples of the first element of exoplanetary naming. 51 Pegasi b, for instance, is an exoplanet around the star 51 Pegasi in the constellation Pegasus. The star received this particular catalogue designation by English astronomer John Flamsteed in his 1712 star atlas. Another common star catalogue used for exoplanet names is GJ, from a 1970 expansion of German astronomer Wilhelm Gliese's 1957 index. (A handful of Gliese exoplanets also exist as well.) An example world with this naming is GJ 1214 b, meaning it is the 1,214th entry in the star catalogue. Still other examples include the HD and HIP exoplanets. An example of an exoplanet named after its star's common name is Fomalhaut b, derived from an Arabic name originally used at least 2,000 years ago.

Exoplanets that are named after their discovering instrument include the Kepler planets, for the National Aeronautical and Space Administration's (NASA) Kepler space telescope. Another instance is the CoRoT planets, for the French Space Agency's (CNES) and the European Space Agency's (ESA) spacecraft, COnvection ROtation and planetary Transits. Example planets are Kepler-186 f and CoRoT-7b, respectively. The number in each name refers to the order of the exo-solar system's detection or identification in the instrument's data.

Exoplanets that are named after astronomical or planet-searching projects include the HAT planets, via the Hungarian Automated Telescope Network (HATNet), and the WASP planets, from the SuperWASP project, both of which are ground-based efforts. Numerous other examples exist. The nation of Qatar funds an exoplanet-hunting project, and its planets follow the naming scheme of Qatar-1b, and so on. The MOA and OGLE exoplanets were discovered through a particular observation technique, called gravitational microlensing, by the Microlensing Observations in Astrophysics (MOA) and the Optical Gravitational Lensing Experiment (OGLE) projects, respectively.

We'll now address the second letter element appearing in exoplanet scientific designations. Unlike the proper noun, the letter term applies universally in almost all nomenclature styles. The letter indicates the order of the planet's discovery around its host star. The first exoplanet discovered in another solar system is designated b; the second, c; the third d; and so on. The letter does not indicate the planet’s orbital placement around its host star, so Exoplanet-c can be closer to, or farther away from, the star that it co-orbits with Exoplanet-b.

The lowercase lettering style is drawn from the IAU-established rules for naming binary and multiple star systems. A primary star, which is brighter and typically bigger than its secondary or tertiary companion stars, is designated by a capitalized A. Its companions are labelled B and C, and so on. Sirius, the brightest star in the sky, demonstrates this nomenclature. Actually a double star, the bright star we see in Canis Major is Sirius A, and its dim companion is Sirius B. The first exoplanet tentatively identified around the second brightest star in the triple star system, Alpha Centauri, is accordingly called Alpha Centauri Bb. If an exoplanet orbits both of the stars in a binary system, its name can be, for example, Kepler-34(AB) b.

Naming rules

The public names proposed in naming campaign should follow the naming rules and restrictions adopted for Minor Bodies of the Solar System, by the IAU and by the Minor Planet Center (see http://www.iau.org/public/naming/#minorplanets, or, for more details, http://www.minorplanetcenter.net/iau/info/Astrometry.html#nametype).

In particular proposed names should be:

  • 16 characters or less in length;
  • Preferably one word;
  • Pronounceable (in some language);
  • Non-offensive;
  • Not too similar to an existing name of an astronomical object. Names already assigned to astronomical objects can be checked using the links http://cds.u-strasbg.fr/cgi-bin/sesame (for galactic and extragalactic names), and the MPC database http://www.minorplanetcenter.net/db_search (for names).


In addition it is not allowed to propose:

  • Names of pet animals;
  • Names of a purely or principally commercial nature;
  • Names of individuals, places or events principally known for political, military or religious activities;
  • Names of living individuals.
  • Same name for a host star and a planet around it


The process must be respectful of intellectual property:

  • It must be demonstrated that previously existing names, when proposed, are free for public use (i.e., for instance, not subject to copyright royalties, as could be the case for names created in fiction works, like books, plays, movies, etc.);

 

When the organization recommends a name, or names, to the IAU, the Executive Committee Working Group Public Naming of Planets and Planetary Satellites will solicit the expertise of the relevant IAU bodies (typically, specialized Commissions and/or Working Groups), and accept input from the organization, to select the name(s) that will constitute the official IAU sanctioned name(s). The selected name(s) will be publicly announced by the IAU.

It is understood that, if a scientific designation for the object(s) already exists, the public name will not replace it, but will be recognized by the IAU as the appropriate publicly used name for the object(s), and be publicized as such, along with due credit to the organization or individual that proposed it. This public name may then be used internationally along with, or instead of, the scientific designation, permanently and without restrictions.

Related Links

IAU General Assembly
Honolulu, 3-14 August 2015

IAU General Assembly 2015

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2015 n° 13

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

Discuss the IAU Commission reform (Members only)

CAPj

CAPjournal issue 17 now available

CAPjournal issue 17

NameExoWorlds Contest

NameExoWorlds

IAU Directory for World Astronomy

NameExoWorlds

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

Peer-reviewed Astronomy Education Activities

Astro EDU

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Portal to the Universe

Portal to the Universe