SCIENCE

EDUCATION AND CAPACITY BUILDING

GRANTS & PRIZES

ADMINISTRATION

ASTRONOMY FOR THE PUBLIC

PRESS & MEDIA

Letters of Intent for 2015

Letters of Intent are ordered by names of contact persons. The deadline for submission of full proposals is Dec. 15.


GA Symposia

LoI 2015-213

 
Title Star Formation across Scales in the Universe
Contact Philippe ANDRE (pandre@cea.fr)

 

LoI 2015-179

 
Title The General Assembly of the Galactic Halo
Contact Angela Bragaglia (angela.bragaglia@oabo.inaf.it)

 

LoI 2015-210

 
Title Research in Astronomy Education: Results and Future Directions
Contact Paulo Bretones (bretones@ufscar.br)

 

LoI 2015-181

 
Title Formation, evolution, and survival of massive star clusters
Contact Corinne Charbonnel (Corinne.Charbonnel@unige.ch)

 

LoI 2015-211

 
Title Asteroids: New Observations, New Models
Contact Steven Chesley (steve.chesley@jpl.nasa.gov)

 

LoI 2015-191

 
Title From molecular gas to star forming galaxies
Contact Pascale JABLONKA (pascale.jablonka@epfl.ch)

 

LoI 2015-203

 
Title Galaxies in the Early Universe and the Growth of Structure over Cosmic Time
Contact Sugata Kaviraj (s.kaviraj@herts.ac.uk)

 

LoI 2015-215

 
Title Protoplanetary Disks: Structure, Transport and Chemistry
Contact Hubert Klahr (klahr@mpia.de)

 

LoI 2015-196

 
Title Solar and Stellar Flares and Their Effects on Planets
Contact Alexander Kosovichev (sasha@bbso.njit.edu)

 

LoI 2015-202

 
Title Technology, Data-handling, and Operational Challenges for Large Astronomical Facilities
Contact Valentin M. Pillet (vmpillet@nso.edu)

 

LoI 2015-200

 
Title Which future for electromagnetic Astronomy: Ground Based vs Space Borne Large Astrophysical Facility
Contact Ubertini Pietro (pietro.ubertini@iaps.inaf.it)

 

LoI 2015-190

 
Title GA Symposium: The dramatic evolution of galaxy morphology
Contact Aaron Robotham (aaron.robotham@uwa.edu.au)

 

LoI 2015-208

 
Title The Lyman alpha Universe
Contact Daniel Schaerer (daniel.schaerer@unige.ch)

 

LoI 2015-192

 
Title Citizen Science, Social Machines and Open Science in Astronomy
Contact Robert Simpson (robert.simpson@astro.ox.ac.uk)

 

LoI 2015-182

 
Title The Galaxy as a system of systems: An integrative view
Contact David Soderblom (drs@stsci.edu)

 

LoI 2015-199

 
Title Young Stars and Planets Near the Sun
Contact Ben Zuckerman (ben@astro.ucla.edu)

 

LoI 2015-172

 
Title The high resolution view of star and planet formation
Contact Floris van der Tak (vdtak@sron.nl)

 

GA Focus Meetings

LoI 2015-167

 
Title Focus Meeting: The physics of the stellar halos around galaxies
Contact Magda Arnaboldi (marnabol@eso.org)

 

LoI 2015-174

 
Title Focus Meeting: Electromagnetic and gravitational radiation from compact objects
Contact Tomaso Belloni (tomaso.belloni@brera.inaf.it)

 

LoI 2015-168

 
Title Focus Meeting: Solar, Stellar, and Space Physics in the ATST Era
Contact Thomas Berger (tberger@nso.edu)

 

LoI 2015-178

 
Title Focus Meeting: Water throughout the universe
Contact Edwin Bergin (ebergin@umich.edu)

 

LoI 2015-171

 
Title Focus Meeting: IAU Working Group Libraries
Contact Marsha Bishop (mbishop@nrao.edu)

 

LoI 2015-175

 
Title Focus Meeting: Highlights in the Exploration of Small Worlds
Contact Dominique Bockelee-Morvan (dominique.bockelee@obspm.fr)

 

LoI 2015-187

 
Title Focus Meeting: Cosmological X-ray Surveys: Supermassive Black Hole growth and Cosmic structures
Contact Andrea Comastri (andrea.comastri@oabo.inaf.it)

 

LoI 2015-183

 
Title Focus Meeting: Stellar Behemoths - Red Supergiants Across the Local Universe
Contact Ben Davies (b.davies@ljmu.ac.uk)

 

LoI 2015-169

 
Title Focus meeting: what is a galaxy?
Contact Pierre-Alain Duc (paduc@cea.fr)

 

LoI 2015-173

 
Title Focus Meeting: Pushing the Frontiers of Cosmology and Galaxy Formation with HST
Contact Harald Ebeling (ebeling@ifa.hawaii.edu)

 

LoI 2015-180

 
Title Focus Meeting: Scale-free processes in astrophysics
Contact Edith Falgarone (edith.falgarone@ens.fr)

 

LoI 2015-185

 
Title Focus Meeting: Statistics and Exoplanets
Contact Eric Feigelson (edf@astro.psu.edu)

 

LoI 2015-224

 
Title Focus Meeting: The IAU Office of Astronomy for Development: Impact!
Contact Kevin Govender (kg@astro4dev.org)

 

LoI 2015-170

 
Title Focus Meeting: Laboratory Astrophysics
Contact Patrick Hartigan (hartigan@sparky.rice.edu)

 

LoI 2015-217

 
Title Focus Meeting: The picture of galaxy evolution painted with Lyman alpha
Contact Esther Hu (hu@ifa.hawaii.edu)

 

LoI 2015-212

 
Title Focus Meeting: Meeting the Neighbours: The Magellanic System
Contact Annie Hughes (hughes@mpia.de)

 

LoI 2015-176

 
Title Focus Meeting: Recent advances in stellar physics from asteroseismology
Contact Simon Jeffery (csj@arm.ac.uk)

 

LoI 2015-218

 
Title Focus Meeting: Understanding Cosmic Magnetism with Next Generation Instruments
Contact Melanie Johnston-Hollitt (Melanie.Johnston-Hollitt@vuw.ac.nz)

 

LoI 2015-197

 
Title Focus Meeting: Astronomy in Hawaii - Past, Present and Future
Contact Markus Kissler-Patig (mkissler@gemini.edu)

 

LoI 2015-198

 
Title Focus Meeting: Astronomy, culture and patronage through the ages
Contact Rajesh Kochhar (rkochhar2000@yahoo.com)

 

LoI 2015-189

 
Title Focus Meeting: Connecting Solar and Stellar Variability
Contact Natalie Krivova (natalie@mps.mpg.de)

 

LoI 2015-221

 
Title Focus Meeting: Search for water and life's building blocks in the universe
Contact Sun Kwok (sunkwok@hku.hk)

 

LoI 2015-220

 
Title Focus Meeting: Stellar Physics Throughout the Universe
Contact Claus Leitherer (leitherer@stsci.edu)

 

LoI 2015-226

 
Title Cosmology from before Hubble (EP) to after Hubble (ST)
Contact Vicent J. Martinez (martinez@uv.es)

 

LoI 2015-194

 
Title Focus Meeting: Stellar structure, gas dynamics and star formation in galaxies
Contact Sharon Meidt (meidt@mpia.de)

 

LoI 2015-188

 
Title Focus Meeting: Complex Organic Molecules in Space
Contact Tom Millar (Tom.Millar@qub.ac.uk)

 

LoI 2015-165

 
Title Focus Meeting: Dynamical problems in Extrasolar planets science
Contact Alessandro Morbidelli (morby@oca.eu)

 

LoI 2015-201

 
Title Focus Meeting: Observations and 3D numerical models: exploring the common ground
Contact Fernando Moreno-Insertis (fmi@iac.es)

 

LoI 2015-204

 
Title Focus Meeting: Signs of Life: Exoplanets and the Search for Biomarkers
Contact Rachel Osten (osten@stsci.edu)

 

LoI 2015-205

 
Title Focus Meeting: The Archaeology of Galaxies
Contact Rachel Osten (osten@stsci.edu)

 

LoI 2015-206

 
Title Focus Meeting: New Light on First Light
Contact Rachel Osten (osten@stsci.edu)

 

LoI 2015-193

 
Title Focus Meeting: The Anatomy of Nearby Starburst Galaxies
Contact Juergen Ott (jott@nrao.edu)

 

LoI 2015-177

 
Title Focus Meeting: The Solar Neighborhood
Contact Jan Palous (palous@ig.cas.cz)

 

LoI 2015-214

 
Title Focus Meeting: Towards a promising harvest for Gaia
Contact Timo Prusti (tprusti@rssd.esa.int)

 

LoI 2015-225

 
Title Focus Meeting: Astronomical Heritage: Progressing the UNESCO–IAU Initiative
Contact Clive Ruggles (rug@le.ac.uk)

 

LoI 2015-216

 
Title Focus Meeting: Communicating Astronomy with the Public in the Big Data Era
Contact Pedro Russo (russo@strw.leidenuniv.nl)

 

LoI 2015-184

 
Title Focus Meeting: Bridging Laboratory Astrophysics and Astronomy: From Provider to User
Contact Farid Salama (Farid.Salama@nasa.gov)

 

LoI 2015-222

 
Title Focus Meeting: The Impact of Massive Binaries throughout the Universe
Contact Hugues Sana (hsana@stsci.edu)

 

LoI 2015-166

 
Title Focus Meeting: The Cosmos as a probe of fundamental physics
Contact Raghunathan Srianand (anand@iucaa.ernet.in)

 

LoI 2015-223

 
Title Focus Meeting: The Legacy of Planck
Contact Jan Tauber (jtauber@rssd.esa.int)

 

LoI 2015-207

 
Title Focus Meeting: The synergy between massive stellar explosions and their hosts
Contact Christina Thoene (cthoene@iaa.es)

 

LoI 2015-219

 
Title Focus Meeting: Magnetic fields and related physics of massive stars
Contact Gregg Wade (wade-g@rmc.ca)

 

LoI 2015-209

 
Title Focus Meeting: Addressing Light Pollution/RFI Issues for Protection of Observatory & World Heritage Sites
Contact Constance Walker (cwalker@noao.edu)

 

 

Office for Astronomy Development

Office for Astronomy Development


Strategic Plan

International Year of Astronomy

CAPj