Membership Committee

From the IAU Working Rules:

10. The standing Membership Committee advises the Executive Committee on its behalf on matters related to the admission of Individual, Junior and Honorary Members (Statute 13f.).

10.a Three months before a General Assembly, the Membership Committee shall prepare a list of at least 10 Individual Members of the Union who accept to serve on the Committee for the next triennium if elected, including a nominee for Chair. The General Secretary shall forward this list to the National Members and invite additional nominations from them with a deadline of one month before the General Assembly. The Membership Committee shall verify that the resulting slate complies with the rules in Statutes 13 and with general principles of scientific, geographical and gender balance. Members shall not normally serve more than two consecutive terms, and it is desirable that roughly half of the members are replaced at each election. The Chair of the Membership Committee shall present the resulting slate of nominations to the National Members together with the report of the Committee on the previous triennium at the beginning of the General Assembly, for final election at its closing session.

From the IAU Statutes:

13.f. The General Assembly appoints a standing Membership Committee to advise the Executive Committee on its behalf on matters related to the admission of Individual Members. The Membership Committee consists of not more than 8 members of different national affiliations, including a Chairperson, proposed by the National Members, and remains in office until the end of the next General Assembly.


David R. Soderblom

Space Telescope Science Institute
3700 San Martin Dr
Baltimore MD 21218-2410
Maryland (MD)
United States

NCA adherence: United States

Last updated:
February 14, 2019


Soňa Ehlerová — National Outreach Coordinator — National Astronomy Education Coordinator

Academy of Sciences of Czech Republic
Astronomical Institute
Boční II 1401
141 00 Praha 4
Czech Republic

NCA adherence: Czech Republic

Last updated:
December 8, 2020


Laurent Eyer

Observatoire de Genève
Department of Astronomy of Geneva University
51 chemin des Maillettes
1290 Sauverny

NCA adherence: Switzerland

Last updated:
November 15, 2018


Sofia Feltzing

Lund University
Lund Observatory
Box 43
221 00 Lund

NCA adherence: Sweden

Last updated:
June 26, 2019


William E. Harris

McMaster University
Dept Physics-Astronomy
1280 Main St W
Hamilton ON L8S 4M1
Ontario (ON)

NCA adherence: Canada

Last updated:
September 4, 2018


Dibyendu Nandi

IISER Kolkata
Department of Physical Sciences and Center of Excellence in Space Sciences India
IISER Kolkata, Mohanpur
District: Nadia
Mohanpur 741246
West Bengal

NCA adherence: India

Last updated:
February 24, 2020


Serena Viti

Leiden University
Leiden Observatory
Huygens Laboratory, Niels Bohrweg 2, 2333 CA

NCA adherence: United Kingdom

Last updated:
June 15, 2020


IAU XXXI General Assembly Business Sessions

IAU XXXI General Assembly Business Sessions

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings


IAU General Assembly 2022



How to Become a Member

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2021 n° 5

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins