Letters of Intent received in 2018


Non-GA Symposia

LoI 2020-2022

Title Prediction power of computational astrophysics as a discovery tool
Location Paris
Country France
Dates 8 June 2020 to 13 June 2020
Contact Dmitry Bisikalo (bisikalo@inasan.ru)

LoI 2020-2044

Title Stars at the Extreme
Location Natal
Country Brazil
Dates 6 July 2020 to 10 July 2020
Contact Alex Carciofi (carciofi@usp.br)

LoI 2020-2047

Title International (Non-GA) Symposium on Education in Astronomy and Astrobiology
Location Málaga/Marbella
Country Spain
Dates 7 September 2020 to 11 September 2020
Contact Alberto J. Castro-Tirado (ajct@iaa.es)

LoI 2020-2037

Title Non-GA Symposium: Multi-scale (time and mass) dynamics of space objects
Location Iasi
Country Romania
Dates 5 July 2020 to 11 July 2020
Contact Alessandra Celletti (celletti@mat.uniroma2.it)

LoI 2020-2031

Title Non-GA Symposium: The History of Astronomy in Africa
Location Cape Town
Country South Africa
Dates 12 October 2020 to 16 October 2020
Contact Daniel Cunnama (daniel@saao.ac.za)

LoI 2020-2042

Title Build-up of Galaxy Clusters Over Cosmic Time
Location Tenerife
Country Spain
Dates 15 May 2020 to 20 May 2020
Contact Helmut Dannerbauer (helmut@iac.es)

LoI 2020-2019

Title The Origin of Outflows in Evolved Stars
Location Leuven
Country Belgium
Dates 7 September 2020 to 11 September 2020
Contact Leen Decin (leen.decin@kuleuven.be)

LoI 2020-2034

Title Education and Heritage in the Era of Big Data in Astronomy. The first steps on the IAU 2020-2030 Strategic Plan
Location Bariloche (río Negro)/San Martín de los Andes (Neuquen)
Country Argentina
Dates 9 December 2020 to 14 December 2020
Contact Beatriz Garcia (beatriz.garcia@iteda.cnea.gov.ar)

LoI 2020-2040

Title Solar Physics in the Next Decade: New Instruments, New Advances
Location TBD
Country United States
Dates 14 September 2020 to 18 September 2020
Contact Dale Gary (dgary@njit.edu)

LoI 2020-2023

Title Non-GA Symposium: Solar Hydrodynamics
Location Lomonosov Moscow State University
Country Russian Federation
Dates 24 August 2020 to 28 August 2020
Contact Alexander Getling (a.getling@mail.ru)

LoI 2020-2046

Title Non-GA Symposium: New Avenues in Variability Science from Legacy Data
Location Shanghai Astronomical Observatory OR CfA, Harvard University USA
Country China, Nanjing
Dates 19 October 2020 to 23 October 2020
Contact Elizabeth Griffin (Elizabeth.Griffin@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca)

LoI 2020-2018

Title Non-GA Symposium: The Rising Stars of Asteroseismology
Location Liège
Country Belgium
Dates 6 July 2020 to 10 July 2020
Contact Joyce Guzik (joy@lanl.gov)

LoI 2020-2024

Title Magnetized Galactic Halos and Feedback
Location Kingston
Country Canada
Dates 20 July 2020 to 24 July 2020
Contact Judith Irwin (irwinja@queensu.ca)

LoI 2020-2025

Title Non-GA Symposium: Magnetars and Beyond: The Quest for a Unified Neutron Star Scenario
Location Venice, Palazzo Franchetti, Sala Portego
Country Italy
Dates 7 September 2020 to 12 September 2020
Contact GianLuca Israel (gianluca.israel@inaf.it)

LoI 2020-2021

Title IAU Symposium on Enabling Science with Global Astronomical Facilities
Location Perth
Country Australia
Dates 16 November 2020 to 20 November 2020
Contact Slava Kitaeff (slava.kitaeff@uwa.edu.au)

LoI 2020-2029

Title Clusters, AGN outflows and feedback: From X-ray to Radio
Location Pune
Country India
Dates 16 March 2020 to 20 March 2020
Contact Dharam Lal (dharam@ncra.tifr.res.in)

LoI 2020-2036

Title Non-GA Symposium: ‘Living skies’: astronomies, cultures and societies
Location La Plata city, Pcia. de Buenos Aires
Country Argentina
Dates 16 April 2020 to 24 April 2020
Contact Alejandro Martín López (astroamlopez@hotmail.com)

LoI 2020-2038

Title GA Symposium X-ray Surveys of the Hot and Energetic Universe
Location Nanjing University International Conference Center, Nanjing, China
Country China, Nanjing
Dates 14 June 2020 to 20 June 2020
Contact Bin Luo (bluo@nju.edu.cn)

LoI 2020-2032

Title Non-GA Symposium: Bayesian Inference in Astronomy
Location Imperial College London
Country United Kingdom
Dates 27 July 2020 to 31 July 2020
Contact Daniel Mortlock (mortlock@ic.ac.uk)

LoI 2020-2027

Title GA Symposia: Galactic Center: Relativity, Accretion and dynamics G-CRAC-D
Location Los Angeles
Country United States
Dates 17 May 2020 to 22 May 2020
Contact Smadar Naoz (snaoz@astro.ucla.edu)

LoI 2020-2026

Title Astrobiology 2020
Location Vredefort Dome
Country South Africa
Dates 2 November 2020 to 6 November 2020
Contact Joseph Nuth (joseph.a.nuth@nasa.gov)

LoI 2020-2035

Title Coronae observed from natural eclipses and man-made eclipses (Non-GA Symposium)
Location Xiamen City
Country China, Nanjing
Dates 22 June 2020 to 26 June 2020
Contact Zhongquan Qu (zqqu@ynao.ac.cn)

LoI 2020-2045

Title Stellar Variability: The key chart for understanding the stellar and galaxies Evolution
Location Cataract Pyramids HOTEL
Country Egypt
Dates 15 March 2020 to 19 March 2020
Contact Somaya Saad (saadmhsaad@gmail.com)

LoI 2020-2048

Title Astronomical Polarimetry 2020 --- A new era of polarimetry from small to large scales
Location Hiroshima
Country Japan
Dates 23 March 2020 to 27 March 2020
Contact Hiroko Shinnaga (shinnaga@sci.kagoshima-u.ac.jp)

LoI 2020-2033

Title Non-GA Symposium: Galaxy Evolution and Feedback Across Different Environments
Location City of Bento Gonçalves
Country Brazil
Dates 2 March 2020 to 6 March 2020
Contact Thaisa Storchi-Bergmann (thaisa@ufrgs.br)

LoI 2020-2039

Title Non-GA Symposium: Neutron star astrophysics in the multi-messenger era.
Location L'Aquila
Country Italy
Dates 25 May 2020 to 29 May 2020
Contact Eleonora Troja (eleonora.troja@nasa.gov)

LoI 2020-2028

Title Massive Stars Near & Far
Location Westport
Country Ireland
Dates 7 September 2020 to 11 September 2020
Contact Jorick Vink (jorick.vink@armagh.ac.uk)

LoI 2020-2041

Title The Cold Interstellar Medium at Fifty Years
Location Charlottesville, Virginia
Country United States
Dates 9 December 2020 to 13 December 2020
Contact Henry Alwyn Wootten (awootten@nrao.edu)

LoI 2020-2020

Title Non-GA Symposium, Assembling Planetary Systems
Location Charlottesville, Virginia
Country United States
Dates 20 July 2020 to 24 July 2020
Contact Joan Wrobel (jwrobel@nrao.edu)

LoI 2020-2043

Title GA Symposium: Accreting Binaries Near and Far
Location Crete
Country Greece
Dates 14 September 2020 to 18 September 2020
Contact Andreas Zezas (azezas@physics.uoc.gr)

LoI 2020-2030

Title Non-GA Symposium: The Radio Universe Seen through Big Facilities from Millimeter to Meter Bands
Location Guizhou
Country China, Nanjing
Dates 15 September 2020 to 19 September 2020
Contact CHENGMIN ZHANG (zhangcm@bao.ac.cn)

 

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

IAU Code of Conduct (PDF)

Code of Conduct

IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

Membership

How to Become a Member

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2018 n° 11

Latest e-Newsletter

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy

CAPj

International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter