Activities in the various astronomical sub-disciplines are mostly coordinated through the IAU Divisions.

Following the adoption of the Executive Committee Resolution at the XXVIIIth General Assembly held in Beijing, a new Division scheme has been put into place, to take into account the evolution of astronomy and to reflect the scientific policy of the IAU.

These Divisions will include one or more IAU Commissions, each focusing on a narrower scientific or organizational theme. The relation between the existing Commissions and the new Divisions will be gradually established in the coming months.

The list of Divisions adopted in Beijing is as follows:

Past Division Steering and Organizing Committees

Search Scientific Bodies


IAU General Assembly 2018

IAU XXX GA Vienna Logo

Travel grant distribution booking

IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky


How to Become a Member

CAPjournal issue 23 now available

CAPjournal issue 23

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Symposia and Meetings


IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2018 n° 8

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy