IAU National Outreach Coordinators

The IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach (OAO) is a central coordination point for activities taking place around the world. To support projects at a national level, OAO is creating a network of IAU National Outreach Coordinators (NOC): volunteers with extensive experience in public outreach, acting as a single point of contact for a country.

Click on the map below to find the contact details for the NOC in your country.

The list of NOCs

Countries/Region NOC Affiliation Email
Afghanistan Ahmad Shah Hakimyar Engineering Faculty - Kabul University ahmadshah.363 [at] gmail.com
Algeria Jamal Mimouni Mentouri University at Constantine, Physics Department jamalmimouni [at] yahoo.com
Andorra Joan-Marc Miralles Bellera XIP S.L. joanmarc.miralles [at] gmail.com
Argentina Beatriz García Instituto en Tecnologias de Deteccion y Astroparticulas (ITeDA) beatrizgarciautn [at] gmail.com
Armenia Sona Farmanyan Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory sona.farmanyan [at] mail.ru
Australia Pete Wheeler ICRAR pete.wheeler [at] icrar.org
Austria Anneliese Haika ÖGAA (Austrian Associationf for Astronomy and Astrophysics) anneliese.haika [at] waa.at
Bangladesh Farseem M. Mohammedy Bangladesh Astronomical Society farseemm [at] gmail.com
Belgium Rodrigo Alvarez Planétarium de l'Observatoire Royal de Belgique rodrigo.alvarez [at] oma.be
Bosnia and Herzegovina Muhamed Muminovic Astronomical Society Orion Sarajevo muhamed_muminovic [at] yahoo.co.uk
Brazil Eduardo Monfardini Penteado Museum of Astronomy and Related Sciences (MAST) eduardomonfardini [at] mast.br
Bulgaria Georgi Petrov Bulgarian Academy of Sciences petrov [at] astro.bas.bg
Burkina Faso Zacharie Kam Universite de Ouagadougou szachkam [at] gmail.com
Cambodia Tharith Sriv Department of Physics, Royal University of Phnom Penh tharith [at] rupp.edu.kh
Canada Michael A. Reid Dept. of Astronomy and Astrophysics University of Toronto mike.reid [at] utoronto.ca
Chile Patricio Rojo Sociendad Chilena de Astronomia (SOCHIAS) pato [at] das.uchile.cl
China Nanjing Zhu Jin Beijing Planetarium jinzhu [at] bjp.org.cn
China Taipei Mei-Yin Chou Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASIAA) cmy [at] asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
Colombia Carlos Augusto Molina Velásquez Sociedad Antioqueña de Astronomía (Antioquia Astronomical Society) & University of Antioquia camolinav [at] gmail.com
Croatia Vernesa Smolčić University of Zagreb vs [at] phy.hr
Cyprus Francesca Fragkoudi Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics ffrag [at] mpa-garching.mpg.de
Egypt Morcos Abd El Fady National Research Inst of Astronomy-Geophysics morcos [at] frcu.eun.eg
abmorcos [at] yahoo.com
Ethiopia Alemiye Mamo Yacob Ethiopian Space Science and Technology Institute(ESSTI)- Entoto Observatory and Research Center(EORC) malemiye [at] gmail.com
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Gordana Apostolovska Institute of Physics, Faculty of Science, Ss. Cyril and Methodius gordanaa [at] pmf.ukim.mk
France Céline Reylé SF2A celine [at] obs-besancon.fr
Gabon Patrice M. OKOUMA NOMMO ASTRONOMIA okouma [at] hotmail.com
Georgia Sopia Beradze Ilia State University, E. Kharadze
Abastumani Astrophysical Observatory
sopia.beradze.1 [at] iliauni.edu.ge
Germany Markus Pössel Haus der Astronomie - MPIA poessel [at] hda-hd.de
Ghana Jacob Ashong The Planetarium Science Centre Ghana jacob_ashong2 [at] yahoo.com
Greece Kanaris Tsinganos University of Athens tsingan [at] phys.uoa.gr
Guatemala José Rodrigo Sacahui Reyes Escuela de Ciencias Físicas y Matemáticas
Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala
jrsacahui [at] gmail.com
Honduras Lic. Ricardo Pastrana Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras r_pastrana [at] hotmail.com
Hong Kong China Kam Cheung LEUNG Hong Kong Astronomical Society kcleung [at] hkas.org.hk
Hungary Prod Zoltan Kollath University of West Hungary kollath [at] konkoly.hu
zkollath [at] gmail.com
Iceland Saevar Helgi Bragason University of Iceland saevarhb [at] gmail.com
India Sanjit Mitra The Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA) sanjit [at] iucaa.in
Indonesia Avivah Yamani 365 Days of Astronomy
Astrosphere New Media
avivahy [at] gmail.com
Ireland Clair McSweeney CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory clair.mcsweeney [at] bco.ie
Israel Igal Pat-El Israeli Astronomical Association cosmospatel [at] yahoo.com
Italy Ginevra Trinchieri INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera iaunocitaly [at] brera.inaf.it
Japan Hitoshi Yamaoka National Astronomical Observatory of Japan hitoshi.yamaoka [at] nao.ac.jp
Jordan Hanna A. Sabat Jordanian Astronomical Society (JAS) kosmopolites [at] yahoo.com; sabat [at] aabu.edu.jo
Kenya Prof. Paul Baki Technical University of Kenya paulbaki [at] gmail.com
Lebanon Roger Hajjar Notre Dame University-Louaize rhajjar [at] ndu.edu.lb
Madagascar Zara Randriamanakoto University of Cape Town and Malagasy Astronomy & Space Science zara [at] ast.uct.ac.za
Mauritius Nadeem Oozeer South African Radio Astronomy Observatory nadeem [at] ska.ac.za
Mexico Alejandro Farah Instituto de Astronomía, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico farah [at] astro.unam.mx
Mongolia Tsolmon Renchin NUM-ITC-UNESCO Space Science and Remote Sensing Laboratory National University of Mongolia tzr112 [at] psu.edu
Mozambique Claudio Moises Paulo Eduardo Mondlane University claudiompaulo [at] gmail.com
Myanmar Boothee Thaik Htun Myanmar Astronomy & Science Enthusiasts Society boothee [at] gmail.com
Namibia Eli Kasai University of Namibia ekasai [at] unam.na
Nepal Jayanta Acharya Department of Astronomy Nepal Sanskrit University jayantaacharya [at] gmail.com
Netherlands Marieke Baan Dutch Research School for Astronomy (NOVA) H.M.Baan [at] uva.nl
New Zealand Nicholas Rattenbury The University of Auckland n.rattenbury [at] auckland.ac.nz
Nicaragua Emilio Zuniga Hernández The Association of Amateur Astronomers of Leon, Nicaragua ejzh77 [at] hotmail.com
Nigeria Onyeuwaoma Nnaemeka NASRDA-Center for Basic Space Science Nsukka onyeuwaoma.emeka [at] cbss.nasrda.gov.ng
Pakistan Ghulam Murtaza Pakistan Space and Upper Atmosphere Research Commission (SUPARCO) dir.ss [at] suparco.gov.pk
Paraguay Miguel Angel Volpe Borgognon National University at Asunción macvolpe [at] gmail.com
Peru VICTOR DANIEL VERA CERVANTES UNIVERSIDAD NACIONAL MAYOR DE SAN MARCOS vverac [at] unmsm.edu.pe
Philippines Engr. Dario Dela Cruz Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration dariodlc2004 [at] yahoo.com
Poland Krzysztof Czart Urania k.czart [at] urania.edu.pl
Portugal Rosa Doran NUCLIO - Núcleo Interactivo de Astronomia rosa.doran [at] nuclio.pt
Republic of Serbia Tijana Prodanovic University of Novi Sad prodanvc [at] df.uns.ac.rs
Republic of Slovenia Andreja Gomboc Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana andreja.gomboc [at] fmf.uni-lj.si
Romania Dumitru Pricopi Bucharest Observatory dpricopi [at] aira.astro.ro
Russian Federation Dmitri Wiebe Inst of Astronomy RAS dwiebe [at] inasan.ru
Rwanda Pheneas Nkundabakura University of Rwanda nkundapheneas [at] yahoo.fr
Saudi Arabia Abdullrahman H. Maghrabi King Abdulaziz City For Science and Technology (KAST) amaghrabi [at] kacst.edu.sa
Slovakia Rudolf Galis P. J. Šafárik University in Košice rudolf.galis [at] upjs.sk
South Africa Sivuyile Manxoyi South African Astronomical Observatory sivuyile [at] saao.ac.za
South Korea Seo-gu Lee Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute sglee [at] kasi.re.kr
Spain Amelia Ortiz Gil University of Valencia amelia.ortiz [at] uv.es
Sri Lanka Thilina Heenatigala Sri Lanka Astronomical Association thilinah [at] astroepo.org
State of Palestine Suleiman M Baraka The Islamic University of Gaza suleiman.baraka [at] gmail.com
Sweden Robert Cumming
Onsala Space Observatory robert.cumming [at] chalmers.se
Syrian Arab Republic Mohamad AlAssiry Syrian Astronomical Association muhammedalassiry [at] gmail.com
Thailand Wichan Insiri National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand (Public Organisation) - NARIT wichan [at] narit.or.th
Turkey Aysegul F. Yelkenci Istanbul Kultur University a.teker [at] iku.edu.tr
Ukraine Irina Vavilova Main Astronomical Observatory of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine / Vice-President of the Ukrainian Astronomical Association vavilova [at] nas.gov.ua
United Arab Emirates Hamid.M.K.AL-Naimiy Sharjah University alnaimiy [at] sharjah.ac.ae
United Kingdom Robert William Walsh Jeremiah Horrocks Institute, University of Central Lancashire rwwalsh [at] uclan.ac.uk
United Republic of Tanzania Noorali T Jiwaji The Open University of Tanzania ntjiwaji [at] yahoo.com
United States Stephen M. POMPEA National Optical Astronomy Observatory spompea [at] noao.edu
Uruguay Andrea Laura Sosa Oyarzabal Centro Universitario Regional Este (CURE), Universidad de la República asosa [at] cure.edu.uy
Uzbekistan Shurat Ehgamberdiev Ulugh Beg Astronomical Institute (UBAI) shuhrat [at] astrin.uz
Vatican Jean-Baptiste Kikwaya Vatican Observatory jbkikwaya [at] specola.va
Venezuela Kathy Vieira Centro de Investigaciones de Astronomia (CIDA) kvieira [at] cida.ve
Vietnam Nguyen Quynh Lan Department of Physics, Hanoi National University of Education nquynhlan [at] hnue.edu.vn
Zambia Prospery C. Simpemba Copperbelt University pcs200800 [at] gmail.com
Zimbabwe Shazrene S. Mohamed South African Astronomical Observatory shazrene [at] saao.ac.za

 

IAU General Assembly 2018

IAU XXX GA Vienna Logo

Travel grant distribution booking

IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky

Membership

How to Become a Member

CAPjournal issue 23 now available

CAPjournal issue 23

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2018 n° 7

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy

CAPj