IAU National Outreach Contacts

The IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach (OAO) is a central coordination point for activities taking place around the world. To support projects at a national level, OAO is creating a network of IAU National Outreach Contacts (NOC): volunteers with extensive experience in public outreach, acting as a single point of contact for a country.

Click on the map below to find the contact details for the NOC in your country.

The list of NOCs

Countries/Region NOC Affiliation Email
Afghanistan Mr. Ahmad Shah Hakimyar Engineering Faculty - Kabul University ahmadshah.363@gmail.com
Algeria Jamal Mimouni Mentouri University at Constantine, Physics Department jamalmimouni@yahoo.com
Andorra Dr. Joan-Marc Miralles Bellera XIP S.L. joanmarc.miralles@gmail.com
Argentina Dr Beatriz García Instituto en Tecnologias de Deteccion y Astroparticulas (ITeDA) beatrizgarciautn@gmail.com
Armenia Sona Farmanyan Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory sona.farmanyan@mail.ru
Australia Pete Wheeler ICRAR pete.wheeler@icrar.org
Austria Anneliese Haika ÖGAA (Austrian Associationf for Astronomy and Astrophysics) anneliese.haika@waa.at
Bangladesh Dr. Farseem M. Mohammedy Bangladesh Astronomical Society farseemm@gmail.com
Belgium Dr Rodrigo Alvarez Planétarium de l'Observatoire Royal de Belgique rodrigo.alvarez@oma.be
Bosnia and Herzegovina Muhamed Muminovic Astronomical Society Orion Sarajevo muhamed_muminovic@yahoo.co.uk
Bulgaria Dr.Georgi Petrov Bulgarian Academy of Sciences petrov@astro.bas.bg
Burkina Faso Zacharie Kam Universite de Ouagadougou szachkam@gmail.com
Cambodia Tharith Sriv Department of Physics, Royal University of Phnom Penh tharith@rupp.edu.kh
Canada Dr Michael A. Reid Dept. of Astronomy and Astrophysics University of Toronto mike.reid@utoronto.ca
Chile Dr Patricio Rojo Sociendad Chilena de Astronomia (SOCHIAS) pato@das.uchile.cl
China Nanjing Dr. Zhu Jin Beijing Planetarium jinzhu@bjp.org.cn
China Taipei Dr Mei-Yin Chou Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASIAA) cmy@asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
Colombia Carlos Augusto Molina Velásquez Sociedad Antioqueña de Astronomía (Antioquia Astronomical Society) & University of Antioquia camolinav@gmail.com
Cyprus Francesca Fragkoudi Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics ffrag@mpa-garching.mpg.de
Egypt Prof Morcos Abd El Fady National Research Inst of Astronomy-Geophysics morcos@frcu.eun.eg
abmorcos@yahoo.com
Ethiopia Alemiye Mamo Yacob Ethiopian Space Science and Technology Institute(ESSTI)- Entoto Observatory and Research Center(EORC) malemiye@gmail.com
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Prof. Gordana Apostolovska Institute of Physics, Faculty of Science, Ss. Cyril and Methodius gordanaa@pmf.ukim.mk
France Céline Reylé SF2A celine@obs-besancon.fr
Gabon Dr. Patrice M. OKOUMA NOMMO ASTRONOMIA okouma@hotmail.com
Germany Dr Markus Pössel Haus der Astronomie - MPIA poessel@hda-hd.de
Ghana Dr Jacob Ashong The Planetarium Science Centre Ghana jacob_ashong2@yahoo.com
Greece Professor Kanaris Tsinganos University of Athens tsingan@phys.uoa.gr
Guatemala Dr José Rodrigo Sacahui Reyes Escuela de Ciencias Físicas y Matemáticas
Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala
jrsacahui@gmail.com
Honduras Lic. Ricardo Pastrana Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras r_pastrana@hotmail.com
Hong Kong China Kam Cheung LEUNG Hong Kong Astronomical Society kcleung@hkas.org.hk
Hungary Prod Zoltan Kollath University of West Hungary kollath@konkoly.hu
zkollath@gmail.com
Iceland Saevar Helgi Bragason University of Iceland saevarhb@gmail.com
India Professor Sanjit Mitra The Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA) sanjit@iucaa.in
Indonesia Avivah Yamani 365 Days of Astronomy
Astrosphere New Media
avivahy@gmail.com
Israel Dr. Igal Pat-El Israeli Astronomical Association cosmospatel@yahoo.com
Italy Dr Ginevra Trinchieri INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera iaunocitaly@brera.inaf.it
Japan Dr Hitoshi Yamaoka National Astronomical Observatory of Japan hitoshi.yamaoka@nao.ac.jp
Jordan Hanna A. Sabat Jordanian Astronomical Society (JAS) kosmopolites@yahoo.com; sabat@aabu.edu.jo
Kenya Prof. Paul Baki Technical University of Kenya paulbaki@gmail.com
Lebanon Dr. Roger Hajjar Notre Dame University-Louaize rhajjar@ndu.edu.lb
Madagascar Dr Zara Randriamanakoto University of Cape Town and Malagasy Astronomy & Space Science zara@ast.uct.ac.za
Mexico Alejandro Farah Instituto de Astronomía, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico farah@astro.unam.mx
Mongolia Dr Tsolmon Renchin NUM-ITC-UNESCO Space Science and Remote Sensing Laboratory National University of Mongolia tzr112@psu.edu
Mozambique Mr. Claudio Moises Paulo Eduardo Mondlane University claudiompaulo@uem.mz
Myanmar Boothee Thaik Htun Myanmar Astronomy & Science Enthusiasts Society boothee@gmail.com
Namibia Eli Kasai University of Namibia ekasai@unam.na
Nepal Jayanta Acharya Department of Astronomy Nepal Sanskrit University jayantaacharya@gmail.com
Netherlands Drs. Marieke Baan Dutch Research School for Astronomy (NOVA) H.M.Baan@uva.nl
New Zealand Professor Karen Pollard Mt John University Observatory karen.pollard@canterbury.ac.nz
Nicaragua Emilio Zuniga Hernández The Association of Amateur Astronomers of Leon, Nicaragua ejzh77@hotmail.com
Pakistan Mr. Ghulam Murtaza Pakistan Space and Upper Atmosphere Research Commission (SUPARCO) dir.ss@suparco.gov.pk
Paraguay Professor Miguel Angel Volpe Borgognon National University at Asunción macvolpe@gmail.com
Philippines Engr. Dario Dela Cruz Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration dariodlc2004@yahoo.com
Portugal Rosa Doran NUCLIO - Núcleo Interactivo de Astronomia rosa.doran@nuclio.pt
Republic of Serbia Prof Dr Tijana Prodanovic University of Novi Sad prodanvc@df.uns.ac.rs
Republic of Slovenia Dr Andreja Gomboc Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana andreja.gomboc@fmf.uni-lj.si
Romania Dr. Dumitru Pricopi Bucharest Observatory dpricopi@aira.astro.ro
Russian Federation Dr Dmitri Wiebe Inst of Astronomy RAS dwiebe@inasan.ru
Rwanda Dr. Pheneas Nkundabakura University of Rwanda nkundapheneas@yahoo.fr
Saudi Arabia Dr. Abdullrahman H. Maghrabi King Abdulaziz City For Science and Technology (KAST) amaghrabi@kacst.edu.sa
South Africa Mr Sivuyile Manxoyi South African Astronomical Observatory sivuyile@saao.ac.za
South Korea Seo-gu Lee Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute sglee@kasi.re.kr
Spain Benjamin Montesinos Department of Astrophysics
Centre for Astrobiology (CAB, CSIC-INTA)
bmm@cab.inta-csic.es
Sri Lanka Thilina Heenatigala Sri Lanka Astronomical Association thilinah@astroepo.org
State of Palestine Dr Suleiman M Baraka The Islamic University of Gaza suleiman.baraka@gmail.com
Sweden Robert Cumming
Onsala Space Observatory robert.cumming@chalmers.se
Syrian Arab Republic Mohamad AlAssiry Syrian Astronomical Association muhammedalassiry@gmail.com
Thailand Wichan Insiri National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand (Public Organisation) - NARIT wichan@narit.or.th
Turkey Dr. Aysegul F. Yelkenci Istanbul Kultur University a.teker@iku.edu.tr
Ukraine Dr Irina Vavilova Main Astronomical Observatory of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine / Vice-President of the Ukrainian Astronomical Association vavilova@nas.gov.ua
United Arab Emirates Prof. Hamid.M.K.AL-Naimiy Sharjah University alnaimiy@sharjah.ac.ae
United Kingdom Professor Robert William Walsh Jeremiah Horrocks Institute, University of Central Lancashire rwwalsh@uclan.ac.uk
United Republic of Tanzania Dr Noorali T Jiwaji The Open University of Tanzania ntjiwaji@yahoo.com
United States Kathie Bailey Mathae U.S. National Academy of Sciences KBailey@nas.edu
Uruguay Andrea Laura Sosa Oyarzabal Centro Universitario Regional Este (CURE), Universidad de la República asosa@cure.edu.uy
Uzbekistan Prof. Shurat Ehgamberdiev Ulugh Beg Astronomical Institute (UBAI) shuhrat@astrin.uz
Vatican Dr. Jean-Baptiste Kikwaya Vatican Observatory jbkikwaya@specola.va
Venezuela Dr Kathy Vieira Centro de Investigaciones de Astronomia (CIDA) kvieira@cida.ve
Vietnam Dr. Nguyen Quynh Lan Department of Physics, Hanoi National University of Education nquynhlan@hnue.edu.vn
Zambia Prospery C. Simpemba Copperbelt University pcs200800@gmail.com
Zimbabwe Dr Shazrene S. Mohamed South African Astronomical Observatory shazrene@saao.ac.za

 

IAU General Assembly 2018

IAU XXX GA Vienna Logo

Membership

How to Become a Member

CAPjournal issue 23 now available

CAPjournal issue 23

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2017 n° 6

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy

CAPj