IAU National Outreach Coordinators

The IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach (OAO) is a central coordination point for activities taking place around the world. To support projects at a national level, OAO is creating a network of IAU National Outreach Coordinators (NOC): volunteers with extensive experience in public outreach, acting as a single point of contact for a country.

Click on the map below to find the contact details for the NOC in your country.

Download NOC Annual Report 2017

The list of NOCs

Countries/Region NOC Affiliation Email
Algeria Jamal Mimouni Mentouri University at Constantine, Physics Department jamalmimouni [at] yahoo.com
Andorra Joan-Marc Miralles Bellera XIP S.L. joanmarc.miralles [at] gmail.com
Argentina Beatriz García Instituto en Tecnologias de Deteccion y Astroparticulas (ITeDA) beatrizgarciautn [at] gmail.com
Armenia Sona Farmanyan Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory sona.farmanyan [at] mail.ru
Australia Pete Wheeler ICRAR pete.wheeler [at] icrar.org
Austria Anneliese Haika ÖGAA (Austrian Associationf for Astronomy and Astrophysics) anneliese.haika [at] waa.at
Azerbaijan Famil MUSTAFA Shamakhy Astrophysical Observatory famil_m [at] yahoo.com
Bangladesh Farseem M. Mohammedy Bangladesh Astronomical Society farseemm [at] gmail.com
Belgium Rodrigo Alvarez Planétarium de l'Observatoire Royal de Belgique rodrigo.alvarez [at] oma.be
Bolivia Paola Daniela Ochoa Paniagua   coordenada8a [at] gmail.com
Brazil Eduardo Monfardini Penteado Museum of Astronomy and Related Sciences (MAST) eduardomonfardini [at] mast.br
Bulgaria Lyuba Slavcheva-Mihova   lslav [at] astro.bas.bg
Burkina Faso Zacharie Kam Universite de Ouagadougou szachkam [at] gmail.com
Canada Michael A. Reid Dept. of Astronomy and Astrophysics University of Toronto mike.reid [at] utoronto.ca
Cape Verde Ivanilda Maria dos Santos Cabral Semedo Universidade de Cabo Verde ivanilda.cabral [at] docente.unicv.edu.cv
Chile Patricio Rojo Sociendad Chilena de Astronomia (SOCHIAS) pato [at] das.uchile.cl
China Nanjing Zhu Jin Beijing Planetarium jinzhu [at] bjp.org.cn
China Taipei Mei-Yin Chou Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASIAA) cmy [at] asiaa.sinica.edu.tw
Colombia Carlos Augusto Molina Velásquez Sociedad Antioqueña de Astronomía (Antioquia Astronomical Society) & University of Antioquia camolinav [at] gmail.com
Croatia Vernesa Smolčić University of Zagreb vs [at] phy.hr
Cyprus Francesca Fragkoudi Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics ffrag [at] mpa-garching.mpg.de
Czech Republic Soňa Ehlerová Astronomical Institute, Czech Academy of Sciences sona [at] ig.cas.cz
Egypt Morcos Abd El Fady National Research Inst of Astronomy-Geophysics morcos [at] frcu.eun.eg
abmorcos [at] yahoo.com
Ethiopia Alemiye Mamo Yacob Ethiopian Space Science and Technology Institute(ESSTI)- Entoto Observatory and Research Center(EORC) malemiye [at] gmail.com
France Céline Reylé SF2A celine [at] obs-besancon.fr
Georgia Sopia Beradze Ilia State University, E. Kharadze
Abastumani Astrophysical Observatory
sopia.beradze.1 [at] iliauni.edu.ge
Germany Markus Pössel Haus der Astronomie - MPIA poessel [at] hda-hd.de
Ghana Jacob Ashong The Planetarium Science Centre Ghana jacob_ashong2 [at] yahoo.com
Greece Kanaris Tsinganos University of Athens tsingan [at] phys.uoa.gr
Guatemala José Rodrigo Sacahui Reyes Escuela de Ciencias Físicas y Matemáticas
Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala
jrsacahui [at] gmail.com
Honduras Lic. Ricardo Pastrana Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Honduras r_pastrana [at] hotmail.com
Hong Kong China Kam Cheung LEUNG Hong Kong Astronomical Society kcleung [at] hkas.org.hk
Hungary Prod Zoltan Kollath University of West Hungary kollath [at] konkoly.hu
zkollath [at] gmail.com
Iceland Saevar Helgi Bragason University of Iceland saevarhb [at] gmail.com
India Sanjit Mitra The Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA) sanjit [at] iucaa.in
Indonesia Avivah Yamani 365 Days of Astronomy
Astrosphere New Media
avivahy [at] gmail.com
Ireland Clair McSweeney CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory clair.mcsweeney [at] bco.ie
Italy Ginevra Trinchieri INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera iaunocitaly [at] brera.inaf.it
Japan Hitoshi Yamaoka National Astronomical Observatory of Japan hitoshi.yamaoka [at] nao.ac.jp
Jordan Awni Khasawneh Jordanian Astronomical Society (JAS) kawni [at] yahoo.com
Kenya Prof. Paul Baki Technical University of Kenya paulbaki [at] gmail.com
Lebanon Roger Hajjar Notre Dame University-Louaize rhajjar [at] ndu.edu.lb
Lithuania Gražina Tautvaiŝiene   grazina.tautvaisiene [at] tfai.vu.lt
Madagascar Zara Randriamanakoto University of Cape Town and Malagasy Astronomy & Space Science zara [at] ast.uct.ac.za
Malaysia Fairos Asillam   mhdfairos [at] gmail.com
Mauritius Nadeem Oozeer South African Radio Astronomy Observatory nadeem [at] ska.ac.za
Mexico Alejandro Farah Instituto de Astronomía, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico farah [at] astro.unam.mx
Mongolia Tsolmon Renchin NUM-ITC-UNESCO Space Science and Remote Sensing Laboratory National University of Mongolia tzr112 [at] psu.edu
Morocco Zouhair Benkhaldoun Cadi Ayyad University / Oukaimeden Observatory zouhair [at] uca.ma zouhair [at] uca.ac.ma
Mozambique Claudio Moises Paulo Eduardo Mondlane University claudiompaulo [at] gmail.com
Myanmar Boothee Thaik Htun Myanmar Astronomy & Science Enthusiasts Society boothee [at] gmail.com
Namibia Eli Kasai University of Namibia ekasai [at] unam.na
Nepal Jayanta Acharya Department of Astronomy Nepal Sanskrit University jayantaacharya [at] gmail.com
Netherlands Marieke Baan Dutch Research School for Astronomy (NOVA) H.M.Baan [at] uva.nl
New Zealand Nicholas Rattenbury The University of Auckland n.rattenbury [at] auckland.ac.nz
Nicaragua Emilio Zuniga Hernández The Association of Amateur Astronomers of Leon, Nicaragua ejzh77 [at] hotmail.com
Nigeria Onyeuwaoma Nnaemeka NASRDA-Center for Basic Space Science Nsukka onyeuwaoma.emeka [at] cbss.nasrda.gov.ng
Pakistan Ghulam Murtaza Pakistan Space and Upper Atmosphere Research Commission (SUPARCO) dir.ss [at] suparco.gov.pk
Paraguay Miguel Angel Volpe Borgognon National University at Asunción macvolpe [at] gmail.com
Peru VICTOR DANIEL VERA CERVANTES UNIVERSIDAD NACIONAL MAYOR DE SAN MARCOS vverac [at] unmsm.edu.pe
Philippines Chato Ramos Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration ramoschat [at] gmail.com
Poland Krzysztof Czart Urania k.czart [at] urania.edu.pl
Portugal Rosa Doran NUCLIO - Núcleo Interactivo de Astronomia rosa.doran [at] nuclio.pt
Republic of Serbia Tijana Prodanovic University of Novi Sad prodanvc [at] df.uns.ac.rs
Republic of Slovenia Andreja Gomboc Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, University of Ljubljana andreja.gomboc [at] fmf.uni-lj.si
Romania Dumitru Pricopi Bucharest Observatory dpricopi [at] aira.astro.ro
Russian Federation Dmitri Wiebe Inst of Astronomy RAS dwiebe [at] inasan.ru
Rwanda Pheneas Nkundabakura University of Rwanda nkundapheneas [at] yahoo.fr
Slovakia Rudolf Galis P. J. Šafárik University in Košice rudolf.galis [at] upjs.sk
South Africa Sivuyile Manxoyi South African Astronomical Observatory sivuyile [at] saao.ac.za
South Korea Seo-gu Lee Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute sglee [at] kasi.re.kr
Spain Amelia Ortiz Gil University of Valencia amelia.ortiz [at] uv.es
Sri Lanka Thilina Heenatigala Sri Lanka Astronomical Association thilinah [at] astroepo.org
State of Palestine Suleiman M Baraka The Islamic University of Gaza suleiman.baraka [at] gmail.com
Sweden Robert Cumming Onsala Space Observatory robert.cumming [at] chalmers.se
Syrian Arab Republic Mohamad AlAssiry Syrian Astronomical Association muhammedalassiry [at] gmail.com
Thailand Wichan Insiri National Astronomical Research Institute of Thailand (Public Organisation) - NARIT wichan [at] narit.or.th
Tunisia EL YAZIDI Mayssa Centro di Ateneo di Studi e Attività Spaziali "Giuseppe Colombo" – CISAS ( Italy) mayssa.elyazidi [at] unipd.it
Turkey Sinan ALIS Istanbul University, Department of Astronomy and Space Sciences salis [at] istanbul.edu.tr
Ukraine Irina Vavilova Main Astronomical Observatory of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine / Vice-President of the Ukrainian Astronomical Association vavilova [at] nas.gov.ua
United Arab Emirates Hamid.M.K.AL-Naimiy Sharjah University alnaimiy [at] sharjah.ac.ae
United Kingdom Robert William Walsh Jeremiah Horrocks Institute, University of Central Lancashire rwwalsh [at] uclan.ac.uk
United Republic of Tanzania Noorali T Jiwaji The Open University of Tanzania ntjiwaji [at] yahoo.com
United States Stephen M. POMPEA National Optical Astronomy Observatory spompea [at] noao.edu
Uruguay Andrea Laura Sosa Oyarzabal Centro Universitario Regional Este (CURE), Universidad de la República asosa [at] cure.edu.uy
Venezuela Kathy Vieira Centro de Investigaciones de Astronomia (CIDA) kvieira [at] cida.ve
Zambia Prospery C. Simpemba Copperbelt University pcs200800 [at] gmail.com

 

IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter

CAPj

IAU Code of Conduct (PDF)

Code of Conduct

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

Membership

How to Become a Member

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2018 n° 11

Latest e-Newsletter

Symposia and Meetings

Meetings

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy

CAPj

International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter