IAU & The Shaw Prize Foundation

The Shaw Prize was established in 2002 and is managed and administered in Hong Kong by The Shaw Prize Foundation. It is an international award dedicated to recognize researchers who have recently achieved excellence in, or made outstanding contributions to, their scientific fields. The Prize is awarded every year in three categories of sciences, one of which is astronomy.

The IAU and the Shaw Prize Foundation have an agreement to work together towards their shared goal of promoting astronomy, and utilising its potential as a valuable tool for education.

The IAU will annually issue a press release announcing the winner of the Shaw Prize in astronomy to the media, its members and the public. In addition, the winner will be invited to give a plenary lecture at an IAU scientific event, either at the IAU General Assembly, at one of the regional IAU meetings, or at one of the IAU Symposia.

The Shaw Prize Foundation will provide funding for an annual Shaw–IAU Workshop on “Astronomy for Education”, a key activity of the new IAU Office of Astronomy for Education.

The agreement started in 2019 and will continue for an initial period of five years, with the possibility of renewal after that time.

link: The Prize in Astronomy


IAU GA 2021 Business Sessions

Strategic Plan

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings


IAU General Assembly 2022



How to Become a Member

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2021 n° 6

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins