ann18042 — Announcement

Ewine van Dishoeck receives the Kavli Prize 2018
6 September 2018
2018 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics Awarded

The 2018 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics was awarded on 4 September 2018 to Ewine van Dishoeck from Leiden University, The Netherlands. The prize is awarded for her pioneering work in observational, theoretical, and laboratory astrochemistry, shedding light on the chemistry of interstellar clouds and the formation of stars and planets. This is only the second time that a Kavli Prize, in any category, has been awarded to a single recipient.

The Kavli Prize is awarded every two years by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and consists of a monetary award of 1 million US dollars in each field. The laureates also receive a gold medal and a commemorative scroll. Alongside astrophysics, the Kavli Prize also recognises groundbreaking research in the fields of nanoscience and neuroscience.

The Kavli Prize was awarded at a ceremony in Oslo on 4 September 2018. The IAU General Secretary Maria Teresa Lago also attended the ceremony.



Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Press Officer
Garching bei München, Germany
Tel: +49 89 320 06 761
Cell: +49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



Ewine van Dishoeck receives the Kavli Prize 2018
Ewine van Dishoeck
Ewine van Dishoeck