Division E Meeting at the XXX General Assembly:

Vienna, Austria, 24 and 27 August 2018


Yihua Yan – NAOC – Beijing (China)


Abstract list for Div.E
Poster list for Div.E

Friday, 24. Aug.

Solar Interior and Dynamo
Chair: Yihua Yan, Natalie Krivova

room: L3
10:30 - Howe, Rachel (Helioseismology/evidence for change in dynamo)
11:00 - Böning, Vincent (Inferences of the Deep Solar Meridional Flow)
11:15 - Yang, Dan (Helioseismic Holography Using Multiple Vantage Points)
11:30 - Hanson, Chris (Supervised Neural Networks for Helioseismic Ring-diagram Inversions)
11:45 - Moore, Christopher (The Solar Corona viewed through the MinXSS)

Solar Atmospheres and Activities
Chair: Marc L DeRosa, Lyndsay Fletcher

room: L3
13:30 - Temmer, Manuela (Early CME evolution and associated phenomena in the solar atmosphere)
14:00 - Veronig, Astrid (On the factors determining the eruptive character of solar flares)
14:15 - Göker, Ümit Deniz (emporal Variations of Different Solar Activity Indices and Solar Spectral Irradiance Variability of Some Chromospheric Emission Lines Through the Solar Cycles 21-23)
14:30 - Menezes, Fabian (The subterahertz sun: equatorial and polar radii from SST and ALMA)
14:45 - Wheatland, Michael (Changes in the photospheric magnetic field produced by flares)

Solar Atmospheres and Activities
Chair: Lidia van Driel-Gesztelyi,Rudolf von Steiger

room: L3

15:30 - Benz, Arnold O. (Electron Acceleration in Nanoflares and Preflares - Relevant for Coronal Heating?)
15:45 - Bisoi, Susanta Kumar (Evidence of a distant decimetric radio source connected to the main flare site: First high temporal and spatial GMRT observations)

16:00 - Yan, Yihua (A Ciruclar Ribbon Flare Event as Observed by MUSER)
16:15 - Park, Eunsu (AI-generated EUV images of the Sun)
16:30 - Mrozek, Tomasz (The catalogue of failed eruptions registered by the SDO/AIA)
16:45 - Barnes, Graham (Understanding the Where and the How Big of Solar Flares)

Solar Wind, Heliospheric Transients and Space Weather
Chair: Toshifumi Shimizu

room: L3
17:00 - Kilpua, Emilia (Recent Living Review on CMEs in interplanetary space)
17:30 - Russell, Christopher (The Solar Wind over the Last Four Sunspot Cycles)
18:00 - Moon, Yong-Jae (Application of deep learning methods for image-to-image translation to solar and geophysical data)
18:15 - Holappa, Lauri (IMF By-dependent enhancement in high-latitude geomagnetic activity in local winter)
18:30 - Jeon, Seonggyeong (Statistical study on the kinematic classification of coronal mass ejections from 4 to 30 solar radii)


Monday, 27. Aug.

PhD. Prize talks & Poster Session
Chair: Sarah Gibson, Rudolf von Steiger

room: L3
10:30 - Takasao, Shinsuke (Toward understanding of the production and evolution of large solar flares)
10:45 - Gebreegzabihar, Kinfe (Influence of Active Region Inflows in a 3D Babcock-Leighton Solar Dynamo Model)
11:00 - posters

Science Opportunity with Solar Instrumentation
Chair: Sarah Gibson, Ingrid Mann

room: L3
13:30 - Solanki, Sami (Science from Solar Orbiter)
13:45 - Martinez Pillet, Valentin (Science from DKIST)
14:00 - Vourlidas, Angelos (Science from Parker Solar Probe)
14:15 - Shimojo, Masumi (Solar Science with ALMA)
14:30 - Yuanyong Deng (Science from Space & ground-based Solar Instrumentation in China)
14:45 - Klein, Karl-Ludwig (radio diagnostics of the Sun with old and the new instruments)

Business Meeting of Division E and its Commissions, WGs
Chair: Yihua Yan

room: L3

15:30 - Yihua Yan (Division E President's report)
15:55 - Vanessa McBride (OAD Representative)
15:58 - Natalie Krivova (Commission C.E1 President's report)

16:08 - Lyndsay Fletcher (Commission C.E2 President's report)
16:18 - Ingrid Mann (Commission C.E3 President's report)
16:28 - Dibyendu Nandi (“Impact of Magnetic Activity on Solar and Stellar Environments” WG Chair’s Report)
16:36 - Jay M. Pasachoff (“Solar Eclipses” WG Chair’s Report)
16:44 - Frederic Clette/Alexei A. Pevtsov (“Coordination of Synoptic Observations of the Sun” WG Chairs’ Report)
16:52 - Greg Kopp/Alexander I. Shapiro (“Solar Irradiance” WG Chairs’ Report)


Yihua Yan

Link to External Website:



Donate to the IAU

Donate to the IAU

General Assembly 2024

IAU General Assembly 2024

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings



How to Become a Member

Deceased Members

Deceased Members

Centre for the Protection of the Dark and Quiet Sky from Satellite Constellation Interference


IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2024 n° 1

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

WG Small Bodies Nomenclature Bulletins

IAU WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters and Ensemble Magazine

WG Women in Astronomy Newsletters