ann22041 — Announcement

Gruber Foundation logo
2 December 2022
Call for Nominations for the 2023 Gruber Cosmology Prize

The Gruber Foundation invites nominations on behalf of individuals whose achievements in cosmology would make them suitable candidates for the 2023 Gruber International Prize Program. The foundation awards prizes annually in the fields of cosmology, genetics and neuroscience.

The Gruber Cosmology Prize honours a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist, or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the Universe.

Each prize is accompanied by a $500 000 unrestricted monetary award and is designed both to recognise groundbreaking work in each field and to inspire additional efforts that effect fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture. Recipients are selected by a committee of distinguished experts in each field. In the case of the cosmology prize, the committee is nominated by the IAU and three other international scientific unions in relevant fields.

The Gruber Foundation encourages nominations that reflect the breadth of the fields and the diversity of those working within them. Nomination forms should be completed and submitted online. The deadline for nominations is 15 December 2022.

More information

The IAU is the international astronomical organisation that brings together more than 12 000 active professional astronomers from more than 100 countries worldwide. Its mission is to promote and safeguard astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development, through international cooperation. The IAU also serves as the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and the surface features on them. Founded in 1919, the IAU is the world's largest professional body for astronomers.


Lars Lindberg Christensen
IAU Director of Communications
Cell: +1 520 461 0433/+49 173 38 72 621

About the Announcement



Gruber Foundation logo