IAU GA 2015

This photo was taken during a reception at the Bishop Museum sponsored by the Commission on the Protection of Observatory Sites and the Commission WG on Astronomical Heritage in honor of the International Year of Light, celebrating it through dark skies preservation and cultural heritage. The award pictured here is the first International Dark Sky Sanctuary ever awarded and the first International Dark Sky Place of any kind in South America. It will be a gateway for other professional research observatories to acquire the same designation, if they so choose.

The people from left to right are Connie Walker (vice-president of C.B7), Steve Pompea (NOAO), Malcolm Smith (CTIO), Chris Smith (Head of AURA-O), Pedro Sanhueza (OPCC) and Richard Green (President, C.B7). The middle four people authored the International Dark-Sky Association application for the IDSS designation. A related press release is available on the www.darksky.org website.


IAU/B. Tafreshi (twanight.org)

About the Image

Release date:
12 August 2015, 21:06
5384 x 3589 px
Image Use

About the Object

Unspecified : People
General Assembly 2015

Image Formats

Large JPEG
6.3 MB
Screensize JPEG
395.8 KB