Date sent: 2 July 2015, 18:04

From: Diana Worrall (

Subject: To all members of Division D re New Committee

Dear Colleagues,

Sincere thanks to everyone who stood for election as Division D President, Vice President, or Steering Committee Member. We had a strong slate, and it is gratifying to see so many willing to stand.

Congratulations to those elected and taking office for the next triennium: Chryssa Kouveliotou (President), Elena Pian (Vice President), and new committee members Tadayasu Dotani, Isabelle Grenier, and Anna Watts.

Our continuing committee members are Xavier Barcons, John Kirk and Anna Wolter, and they will be joined ex-officio by the President of the new commission on Gravitational Wave Astrophysics (Neil Gehrels) and a committee representative from the commission on Supermassive Black Holes, Feedback and Galaxy Evolution (President Bill Forman). As Division D's ex-President I will have the role of 'advisor'.

I look forward to seeing many of you at the GA in Honolulu

Best regards

Professor Diana Worrall
HH Wills Physics Laboratory
University of Bristol, UK
Tel: +44 (0)117 928 8787


IAU 100 Years: Under One Sky

“IAU 100 
Years: Under One Sky

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan


How to Become a Member

IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2020 n° 1

Latest e-Newsletter

Symposia and Meetings


Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers

UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy


International Year of the Periodic
Table of Chemical Elements

Latest e-Newsletter