Date sent: 4 October 2016, 17:34

From: Bruce G. Elmegreen (

Subject: The Hydride Toolbox Conference

Dear colleagues,

Now is a good time to submit an abstract for the Hydride Toolbox conference, 12-15 December 2016, at the University Pierre et Marie-Curie, in Paris, France. The abstract submission deadline is *October 15th* 2016.

Moreover, please be reminded that registration and payment are due before *October 15th* 2016.

Students can apply for a grant, please send to a CV and a funding justification letter before *September 30th* 2016.

*Important dates*
Registration: June 1st - October 15th
Abstract submission: June 1st - October 15th
Payment : June 15th - October 15th
Subvention requests: June 1st - September 30th

The goal of the event is to bring together experts in molecular physics (gas phase & solid phase ; theory & experiments), theoretical and numerical modelling, and astronomical observations, in order to review our current knowledge of interstellar hydrides, benchmark their diagnostic capabilities, and expand the validation domain from the local universe to distant systems. The sessions will be organized with introductory review talks, and ample time for contributed talks and poster presentations.

*Main topics*
Molecular physics and chemistry of hydrides
Diffuse ISM, turbulence, and shocks
Cosmic rays and magnetic field
Extragalactic and AGN activity
Solid phase processes and chemistry
Stars and planet formation, exoplanets
ISM life cycle
Future projects

*Scientific Organizing Committee*
Y. Aikawa                       E. Bergin                 J. Black
P. Caselli                        M. Gerin (chair)     J. Goicoechea (chair)
E. Gonzalez-Alfonso     D. Li                         X. Michaut
D. Neufeld (chair)         K. Öberg                  E. van Dishoeck

*Invited speakers*
S. Aalto                M. Agundez           
J. Black                            P. Caselli
I. Cleeves              E. Dartois              
A. Faure                           S. Federman
D. Galli                 B. Godard              
E. Gonzalez-Alfonso       T. Hama
N. Indriolo            M. Kaufman         
H. Kreckel                         K. Menten
K. Öberg               A. Omont              
V. Ossenkopf                     K. Pontoppidan
E. Roueff               J. Tennyson           
G. Tinetti                          W. Ubachs
E. van Dishoeck

We are looking forward to seeing you in Paris!

The local organizing committee


IAU Strategic Plan 2020–2030

Strategic Plan

IAU Code of Conduct

Code of Conduct

Symposia and Meetings


IAU General Assembly 2021



How to Become a Member

IAU Catalyst

Latest Catalyst

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2020 n° 7

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Young Astronomers

Office for Young Astronomers

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

IAU Office of Astronomy for Education

Office of Astronomy for Education

International School for Young Astronomers

International School for Young Astronomers