TGF Cosmology Prize

The Cosmology Prize of the Gruber Foundation is awarded annually to one or more scientists of any nationality working in the fields of astronomy, physics, mathematics, and philosophy of science, for scientific advances in our understanding of the Universe and how we perceive it. The Cosmology Prizerecipients are selected by an international Advisory Board of seven members, nominated by the IAU and three other international scientific unions in fields relevant to cosmology. The Cosmology Prize consists of a gold medal and a cash prize of, as of 2008, US$ 500,000.

Gruber Cosmology Prize recipients

2013 Viatcheslav Mukhanov (Ludwig‐Maximilians‐Universität, Germany) and Alexei Starobinsky (Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russia)
2012 Charles Bennett (Johns Hopkins University, USA) and the WMAP Team
2011 Marc Davis (University of California at Berkeley, USA), George Efstathiou (Kavli Institute for Cosmology, UK), Carlos Frenk (Durham University, UK) and Simon White (Max-Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Germany)
2010 Charles Steidel (California Institute of Technology, USA)
2009 Wendy Freedman (Carnegie Institution of Washington, CA, USA), Robert Kennicutt (Cambridge, UK) and Jeremy Mould (University of Melbourne School of Physics, Australia)
2008 J. Richard Bond (Canadian Institute for Advanced Research Cosmology and Gravity Program)
2007 Saul Perlmutter and Brian P. Schmidt and their teams: the Supernova Cosmology Project and the High-z Supernova Search Team (Australia, Chile, France, Spain, Sweden, UK, USA)
2006 John C. Mather (Greenbelt, MD, USA) and the Cosmic Background Explorer Team
2005 James E. Gunn (Princeton, NJ, USA)
2004 Alan Guth (Cambridge, MA, USA) and Andrei Linde (Stanford, CA, USA)
2003 Rasjid A. Sunyaev (Moscow, Russian Federation; and Garching, Germany)
2002 Vera C. Rubin (Washington, DC, USA)
2001 Martin J. Rees (Cambridge, UK)
2000 Allan R. Sandage (Pasadena, CA, USA) and James E. Peebles (Princeton, NJ, USA)



The Gruber Cosmology Prize is announced  jointly by the TGF and the IAU, at a venue which has a tradition in astronomy. In the year of an IAU General Assembly, the Cosmology Prize is announced during the Opening Ceremony of that General Assembly.


Nominations for the Gruber Cosmology Prize 2013 will close on 15 December 2012. Nominations should follow the instructions given in :

IAU General Assembly
Honolulu, 3-14 August 2015

IAU General Assembly 2015

IAU e-Newsletter
Volume 2015 n° 13

Latest e-Newsletter

Subscribe to the e-Newsletter


UNESCO-IAU Portal to the Heritage of Astronomy


CAPjournal issue 18 now available

CAPjournal issue 18

NameExoWorlds Contest


IAU Directory for World Astronomy


IAU Office of Astronomy for Development

Office for Astronomy Development

IAU Office for Astronomy Outreach

Office for Astronomy Outreach

Astronomy Outreach Newsletters and Events

Outreach Newsletters

Peer-reviewed Astronomy Education Activities

Astro EDU

Astronomy for Development 
Strategic Plan 2010–2020

Strategic Plan

Portal to the Universe

Portal to the Universe